full circle love

-

Valentines Day in The Wilson household

5:30 am

I sneak into the basement to get the goods that I’ve been hiding there since yesterday.

I place this guy at Brooke’s seat at the kitchen table.

20140214-060647.jpg

 

{image of the red and white stuffed puppy who sings “Sugar Pie Honey Bunch” as his ears flap. God help us all.}

I take Katie’s flowers out of the vase they’ve been hiding in in the garage and attempt to dry them a bit before heading upstairs to wake her up with them in hand.

20140214-060655.jpg

{image of flowers and a box of chocolate in the foreground, Katie opening a card in the background}

Still holding Katie’s flowers and chocolate, I sneak into our bedroom to sign Luau’s card. I hate “husband” Valentine’s Day cards — always have. But this one .. well, let’s just say that I might have cried just a little in CVS and that it kind of said exactly what I needed it to say.

20140214-060704.jpg

{image of front of card reading “When I found you, my heart knew it was home.”}

As I scramble to write the card (at 5:30 on Valentine’s morning, as you do), I hear Luau’s footsteps coming into the room.

“Wait!” I stage whisper.

“Huh?” he says, perfectly reasonably, because, well, huh?

“I’m writing your card!” I shout in a whisper. “Just wait!”

“Aw, babe,” he says, “you didn’t have to do that.”

“It’s just a card,” I say, feeling a little smug, cause, ya know, I did that.

After finishing the card and now not-so-secretly hiding it on his pillow, I walk out into the hallway, passing my bathroom along the way. And there, on my sink, just like all the I love you’s that I’ve just scattered around the house, are these.

 

20140214-060640.jpg

 

{image of my very messy bathroom sink, atop which sits a bouquet of gerbera daisies.}

“Where the heck did you manage to hide these last night?” I ask, grinning.

His sarcastic answer is not fit to print.

And that, my friends, is Valentine’s Day at the Wilson’s, 5:30 am.

-

Wishing you and yours a very Happy Valentine’s Day. Or, as Brooke calls it, and I much prefer, Happy Hearts Day.

May yours be full with love — and may it come, in its own messy, beautiful, glorious way, full circle.

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “full circle love

  1. MY counter makes YOUR counter look like something out of House Beautiful! Mine is an “issue.” I love you & your family. <3 <3 <3 <3

  2. You get up early…I stayed up later than everyone to get my valentines in the right spots! We do what we have to do! Happy Hearts Day!

Leave a Reply

