why i’m not on pinterest, by jess wilson

-

The following conversation really happened. More or less.

It took place in bed, sometime after midnight on Sunday night.

Me: Ooh, so I wanted to tell you, I came up with what I think is a really cute idea for the den. I hope you’re okay with it. I mean, I already went ahead and got the supplies for it, but, ya know, I spent like $8 total, so it’s not like it’s a big deal. But ..

Luau:

Me: Anyway, when Katie and I were at AC Moore today, I picked up this ribbon. Well, sort of a ribbon. Kinda like twine. It’s like ribbon made out of twine. Do you know what I mean? Like sort of rough, natural colored material sort of like burlap but ..

Him:

Me: Do you know what I’m talking about?

Him: Um, sure?

Me: So I bought that and then a bag of these little mini, natural wood clothespins. I’m thinking that I’m going to run the twine along the fireplace mantle, ya know, where we hang the stockings, and then use the clothespins to hang the girls’ artwork from it.

Him:

Me: I think it’ll be kinda cute.

Him: That sounds great.

Me: And then I can take pictures of it and post them on my blog and be one of those bloggers that like does crafts and stuff.

Him: Oh my God.

Me: What?

Luau: Can you imagine?

Me: What?

Him: You, becoming one of those bloggers that does CRAFT PROJECTS?

Me: Pretty funny, right?

Him: No.

Me: Huh?

Him: Can you IMAGINE you … YOU? Instead of getting up at 5 to write, you’d be getting up at 3 and stomping around the house looking for things to do and then blog about. You’d be frantically crisscrossing the house picking things up and saying, “Hmm, what can I do with this pillow?” or “Oooh, I’ll bet I can create something out of this tissue!” It would be a DISASTER.

Me: *Laughing too hard to argue* So you’re saying it’s not a good idea?

Him: Um, no.

Me: You know I’m going to write about this, right?

Him:

Me: I’m going to forget this by tomorrow. Will you write it down on your phone and send it to me? Pleeeeeease?

Him:

Me: Aw, c’mon, take one for the team, babe.

Him:

Me: For the kids?

Him:

Me: For the greater good?

Him:

Me: For the Gipper?

Him: Okay, just promise me no craft blogging.

Me:

20140211-064719.jpg

{images of the finished product}

20140211-064731.jpg

Ya gotta admit, it’s pretty dang cute. Next up, we’ll see what I can do with these …!

20140211-065913.jpg

{image of a pillow and a box of tissues}

Kidding, babe. Kidding.

 

14 thoughts on “why i’m not on pinterest, by jess wilson

  1. I pinned your post. :) I love Pinterest, but crafting is not my thing… you can find more stuff on it than crafts. For instance: Hobbies. And food. Oh, and one of my favorites is Pinterest fails.

  2. Good one. I can’t imagine blogging and arts and crafts and taking care of my son, who is a 24 hour a day project on his own. Oh, and working a full time job. You are lucky, like me and have a wonderful, helpful husband with a great scenes of humor. By the way, your blog is the first thing I look at in the morning before I get out of bed. Thank you for your input and humor :)

Leave a Reply

