brave

Screen shot 2014-02-10 at 5.55.39 AM

{click on the image to read the story entitled ‘Michael Same, College Football Star And Top NFL Prospect, Says He’s Gay’ – CNN}

“I’ve come to tell the world,” he said, “that I’m an openly proud gay man.”

It was beautiful.

And strong.

And profoundly brave.

With each Jason Collins and Michael Sam, with every Tom and Brian and OTS and the Professor who stand up and say, “This is our truth,” it becomes ever so slightly less treacherous for the next and the next and the next to do the same.

I dream of the day when it is no longer brave to be who we are – who we all are, in all of our messy, sticky, gloriously human manifestations – without fear nor shame.

One at a time, we’ll get there.

I’m so grateful to Michael for telling his story.

If you haven’t read it yet, here’s mine.

Screen shot 2014-02-10 at 6.05.41 AM

{click on the text above or click HERE to read my story.}

-

-

10 thoughts on “brave

  1. You may find this funny… or maybe not… but my first thought was “OK cool, where’s the rest of the post?” The fact that you were coming out didn’t register as The Message of your post. You always have A Message! And it didn’t feel like a big enough deal to be A Message on its own.

    Which is. Like. Very unempathic of me. Oops. :)

    So, starting over: YAY! Congratulations on coming out! Does it change how I think about you? Damn right it does. Because I think it’s awesome that you finally feel comfortable being ALL of you in a public space. And I’m so happy for you because of that. It means I see you differently because I now know you weren’t entirely comfortable before, or maybe I’m not explaining it right but… Oh what the hell. Go you!

    I’ve never had an official coming out but I’ve also never made a secret of being bisexual, if the conversation touched on it or if it was pertinent information. But I have had moments where I’ve thought the same thing, that “I live with the privilege of others’ assumption about me.” If we want to change the world, maybe we should challenge those assumptions far more often. Like you have done. Which is all kinds of awesome.

  2. I definitely remember coming across that post in my pre-commenting exploration of your blog, being quite pleasantly surprised, and liking you all the more for it.

    I also remember, later, directly post-emailing/commenting, that specific post coming to my mind while I contemplated the unique qualities of A Certain Institution of Higher Learning. At which point I may or may not have instantly started giggling uncontrollably, while thinking to myself “As you do!”

    My go-to answer for questions about sexual orientation–which I somehow still get, despite being like so blatantly gayish that I actually own socks with the word “GAY” on them–has evolved over the years. I used to try to give some kind of involved, contextualized answer about “queerness.” But then I got tired/bored, and decided to just be candid. So I’ve been alternating between identifying as either “metrosexual+cats” or “Whateverrrr, I don’t careeeeee.” Because I’m a mature, socially competent adult. And stuff.

    In short: Chicka-yeah!

  3. Thank you. I’m grateful to you and others like you and Michael Sam for sharing your stories.

    Since coming out as a trans woman I have been told more times than I can count how brave it was. I couldn’t see it myself because I was too focused on the anxiety and just thought, “I can’t be brave, I’m nervous as heck!” But since then I have come to realize that it is brave, not despite the fear, but because of the it. Because the dangers of coming out are unfortunately very real. But I did it, and I’ve been open all the way because I believe strongly that by raising awareness, by educating people through example, what was unknown and frightening to some can become better understood and accepted.

Leave a Reply

