scott lentine

Things look different from the inside out

~

If you’ve been reading autism blogs lately, you may have bumped into the work of Scott Lentine. Scott describes himself as follows:

I am Scott Lentine, a 25 year old man with high-functioning autism (PDD-NOS/Asperger’s) from Billerica and summer resident of Fieldston Beach, Marshfield. I graduated from Merrimack College magna cum laude with a Bachelor’s Degree in Religious Studies with a Biology minor. I am currently an office intern at the Arc of Massachusetts in Waltham, where I try to persuade lawmakers to pass key disability resources legislation to improve the lives of people with developmental disabilities.

I am interested in data clerical entry duties, hospital settings, autism non-profit organizations, and research type work. I even got a support letter email from President Obama for autism advocacy. My interests include poetry, politics, music, movies, science and medicine, various religions, traveling, going to Boston, dogs, and the beach.

Scott writes poetry, and through his poems shares his experience of life on the spectrum. He has asked me to share his work with you and I’m honored to do so. Here’s Scott …

Just a Normal Day
 
Never knowing what to say
Never knowing what to do
Always looking for clues
Just a normal day

Feeling unsure
Totally perplexed with everyday life
Always on edge never certain
I wish I could lift this curtain

Needing to constantly satisfy my need for information
Always online searching for new revelations
Going from site to site
Obtaining new insights every night

Trying to connect with people my age
Attempting to reveal my unique vision
But ending up alone and unengaged
Feeling like my needs a total revision
Just a normal day

~

Can’t You See

Can’t you see
I just want to have a friend
Can’t you see
I need the same connections in the end

Can’t you see
I want a good job
Can’t you see
I need to have stability and dependence and part of the general mob

Can’t you see
I want to be independent on my own
Can’t you see
I want to be able to have my own home

Can’t you see
I want the same things as everyone else
Can’t you see
I want to be appreciated for myself

~

I hope you’ll take a minute to show Scott and his poetry some love in the comments.

Thank you!

~

Ed note: Please don’t forget to vote for SenseAbility Gym today and every day until the 24th! (Full story here) Thank you!

39 thoughts on “scott lentine

  1. Not to make light of it at all, but he sounds pretty much like everyone. We all want those things. We all do those things.

  2. Beautiful poetry! Yes, those are the same things everyone wants, and that is his point, I think. Scott just has some extra challenges in getting those things, but it sounds like he isn’t afraid of working hard to reach his goals. Thank you Scott and Jess for sharing!

  3. Scott, I see you. I hear you. And I get it. Did you watch the movie, Avatar? I’m sure you did. Your poetry took me back to that scene. “I see you.” Although we all yearn to be seen, the real person deep inside, I think that this is especially true for men on the spectrum. My husband is on the spectrum. And, although he was thirty before we met, it wasn’t too late to have a full and wonderful life. Here’s the catch…I didn’t know. I didn’t know he was an Aspie until our daughters were diagnosed. I fell in love with him and accepted him, even with all his quirks. Isn’t that what we all want? To be loved and cherished as the unique creatures that we are? Please love me, just as I am. And I did and I do love all the Aspies in my life…just as they are. And you know what? After I read some lists of Aspie traits, I realized they are the very things that made me choose to marry my husband. Loyal, intelligent, focused, hard-working, dependable, gentle, never cruel, logical, chivalrous, protective of those he loves, and funny. Does he have negative traits? Yes. But, so does everyone. I love ALL of him. I see him. And, Scott, I see you.

  4. First, Scott, congratulations on your accomplishments, graduating magna cum laude is quite a feat. Second, thanks for sharing your poetry. My son is also diagnised PDD-NOS, and it can be hard to have an “invisible” disability because the challenges are real they just are not as apparent to others. If you are ever looking for a nine year old pen pal who loves music and movies as well, I have the guy for you. Please keep sharing your wonderful poetry.

  5. Scott, these really hit home..they say we always see ourselves in our children and your thoughts that you shared just secured that for me. Maybe my son is much more like his Mom than i realized. Your insight and gifts are treasures..

  6. What a perfect medium to share thoughts, feelings and perspectives of an autistic person. Thank you Scott for sharing your voice; a voice that may be my son and daughter’s one day as they grow into the world.

    Your success and determination also give me hope.

    Blessings to you – and thank you so much.

  7. Thank you for sharing, Jess. I am reading Scott’s poems on an especially emotional day for me. So needless to say, as I read his words and imagine that my little boy is feeling/thinking the same, the flood gates open, and I am left once again sobbing at my desk. It’s ok…i needed the catharsis – so thanks again :-)

  8. I love Can’t You See. My son has his very first friend at 8 years old, and I wasn’t ever sure that it was going to happen…. He seemed so oblivious to the people around him.

  9. Still hoping you put your collection on the shelves of Barnes & Noble. People love to read about your accompolishments and love to learn about you. Scott you give people encouragement and hope. My wish for you is that you’ll be happy and proud of yourself and make your own way. Your independence, confidence and courage show in all your accompolishments and also in your poetry. Keep going strong. We’re right behind you.

  10. Scott, your poetry is so beautiful. Thanks for sharing with us. I am going to share this with my daughter who works with some ladies who have developmental disabilities.

  11. Hi Scott, I am the grandmother and caregiver of an eight year old magical autistic girl. I hope she will be able to express herself like you. Your poetry touched me all the way to my core. Your wishes are the one I wish for her….I wish you happiness and peace of heart, I belive it is going to come your way.

  12. Lovely insights, Scott, that seem almost musical to me on the page. Keep up the good work. My 13-year-old Aspie son has a unique way with words, too. I plan to show him these and hope he might put some of his thoughts on paper. We need to hear your voices!

  13. Thanks everyone for your comments! I had a nice Thanksgiving at my aunt Sheila’s house in Easton with my several family members and Sheila’s yellow lab Seamus. Lately, my poems also got praise from John Sebastian, drummer Chad Wackerman (he played with the likes of Frank Zappa and Barbra Streisand), Tom Rush, Jesse Colin Young, Chicago (band) singer Bill Champlin, singer/songwriter Gary Portnoy (he sang the theme song to “Cheers” called “Where Everybody Knows Your Name”), punk rock legend Jello Biafra of the Dead Kennedys, saxophonist Dave Koz, film composer Bruce Broughton, and Phil Collins’ guitarist Daryl Steurmer.

  14. Pingback: Autism, Parenting & Beyond: Laura Shumaker » Scott Lentine: Poet, Autism Activist, Friend

  15. Pingback: My poems about autism « scottlentine

Leave a Reply

