lost notes and the bake sale hits the road

~

Warning: It’s a run on sentence kinda day.

Carry on.

~

So, let’s just say that at your kiddo’s last team meeting, you brought your laptop, thinking you were all smarty pants cause you could take notes right on the computer and then send them to yourself and then pretty them up and send them to the whole team with one of those “This is what I heard, just checking that we’re all on the same page and that this is what you heard too” kinda notes. And then let’s say that at the end of the meeting there was this conversation that sort of threw you for a loop and then when you shut the computer, that’s what you did — ya know, just SHUT the computer without bothering to oh, say SAVE all the notes. And then let’s say you went looking for them last night before seeing Dr Dreamy, the neuropsych because there were some important details in there for him and aren’t you just so proud of yourself and your smarty pants idea to type out all the notes because then it’s right there when you need it? But then you realize that SHUTTING the computer without SAVING the notes kinda defeats the whole entire point and guess what? Yeah. No notes. Good going, Smarty Pants. Sooooo, today’s helpful tip? SAVE your stuff, people. Cause as it turns out, saying, “But it HAS to be here somewhere!” over and over again doesn’t really make it so.

You’re welcome.

On a totally different note, the bulk of the bake sale orders are shipped and on their way! We had a couple of outliers thanks to missing addresses or unspecified orders, but (I think) we’ve tracked them all down and they’ll go out tomorrow. In the meantime, Luau apparently pissed off a lot of people at the post office when he showed up with fifty-three packages that all needed to be weighed and entered separately by zip code. But hey, lucky him, he got the slowest clerk EVER, so it was even better. Let’s hear it for Luau!

So here’s how it all went ..

Katie working on the shipping labels. Yes, she wrote them all herself, and no, we didn’t drink the beer or put the Tabasco in the cookies.

Our fancy schmancy return labels, thanks to Luau and his awesome IT skills. 

Brooke in her spot on the heating grate, psyching herself up for some drawing.

A package almost ready to go.

Okay, I can’t take it anymore, people. I feel like such a fraud. I have to spill the beans. Ready? Here goes. God, I hope we’re still friends after this.

I didn’t bake those brownies.

Or those cookies.

Or ANYTHING.

It all just happened so fast. We had so many offers to help and the next thing I knew I was saying, “Yes, please, help would be great,” but it came out more like “OH MY GOD, YES!  I AM SO OVERWHELMED BY THIS RIGHT NOW AND YES! YES! YES! HEEEELLLLPPPPP! YES!” and then it turned out that we had so much help that there were people who had offered who we didn’t even need to ask and in the end, there was literally no baking left for us to do and all we did was collect the baked goods from the people who actually baked them and packaged them which turned out to be a really good thing, because who knew that packaging them would actually be a two-day job between going to the eight (no, not exaggerating – eight) stores to get the materials we needed to pack them to getting an eleven year-old to write fifty-nine packing labels legibly to formatting the thank you notes (okay, Luau did that, but whatever) to making the return labels (okay, Luau again, but they didn’t design themselves, ya know) to actually packing them and well, let’s just say that I was REALLY, REALLY grateful that we didn’t do the baking.

Whew, feels good to get that off my chest.

Anyway, we DID do some drawing for the $50 donations.

Well, the kids did.

I’m seriously starting to feel like a slacker here.

Anyway ..

‘Candy Rain’ by Katie

‘Boots Needs To Calm Down’ by Brooke

I know, awesome.

And Katie wrote out the Thank You notes completely on her own. It was important to her that I not mess with them. So I didn’t. Mostly.

Okay, okay, I made just one tiny little edit because she had spelled ‘comes’ cums and well, listen, people, I know a promise is a promise but this is a family show for heaven’s sake and I don’t want carts or anything else for that matter cumming on wheels, mmkay?

Moving on.

Eventually, the packages were ready to go.

Don’t worry, we taped them up.

So if you ordered something, it should arrive this week. Hopefully, the yummies will remain intact, but I can’t swear that you won’t get a bag full of crumbs. I can swear that they’ll be really delicious crumbs. If you do get crumbs, I highly recommend pouring them directly into a glass of milk or eating them on top of a scoop of vanilla ice cream. It’s all in the framing, folks.

I also can’t swear that what we sent you was even remotely what you ordered. Cause I’m seriously not organized enough for that. But we tried, and hopefully we came close enough to make you happy. If not, please feel free to e-mail me and let me know. We want satisfied customers.

Thank you for being a part of this effort. It means so much to all of us.

Special thanks to Sassy, Alysia and Jane and all of their little baking assistants. Also to my mom who agreed to give me my Christmas gift early when we were running short of the total we needed for the Wii and my Dad, who will kill me for telling you that he paid for all of the packaging and shipping costs. Yes, all of them. Who does that? Well, my Dad, that’s who.

And you. Thank YOU. For supporting my girl and her crazy ideas. For helping us honor Tuck.

I can’t thank you enough.

Now I gotta go eat one of those extra cookies, cause holy hell they’re good.

24 thoughts on “lost notes and the bake sale hits the road

  1. I love this total family effort!! All of you have the biggest hearts! What a joy and a blessing you all are. Those kids will be so happy to be able to play on the Wii! Great job! xo

  2. You just crack me up. Doesn’t matter what the topic is but you always find a way to make me laugh, smile and tears form. Happy or sad. Loved the story and good god girl with all the extra you do plus working, plus being a wife and a super mom I am thankful you did not have to bake and so greatful you had tons of help. Still looks like a major project with tons of work for the entire family. Good for you and the great example you set for all to follow.

  3. I’m so crazy glad for this post. In true autism mamma fashion, where I worry about things that I have no business worrying about (probably to distract me from all the things I SHOULD be worried about,) I have been so concerned that you bit off more than you can chew (no bake sale pun intended!). And how is that for a run on sentence? Seriously, though, I work for the Postal Service and see people all the time taken off guard by how quickly postage for these type of projects adds up. Kudos to your dad for helping with that! Anyway, I will sleep much better knowing you had lots of help, and all the stuff is in the mail. (I did say CRAZY glad, right?)

  4. Pretty sure no one could ever call you a fraud. Congratulations on putting on your oxygen mask and taking the help where you could. The big picture: everyone banded together to help a hurting family leave a lasting legacy for generations to come. Hats off to you and your family.

  5. I have two favorite quotes that what you wrote here about Katie reminded me of.

    “If you want to build a ship, don’t drum up people to collect wood and don’t assign them tasks and work, but rather teach them to long for the endless sea.” ~ Antoine de Saint-Exupery

    When the best leader’s work is done the people say, ‘We did it ourselves.’
    Lao Tzu

    She is a natural!

  6. YEA for the Wilson Family…. BIG HUG from You to your sweet hubby for all his efforts… And of course Katie… WAY TO GO KATIE… She needs to give “kid” lessons or “people” lessons for that matter… We could all learn a ton from her sweet heart. And Brooke’s colored pictues were terrific too.

    And Jess, well thanks for being EXACTLY who and what you are. Passionate, genuine, and loving to all those who come across your path.

    Blessings!!!

  7. I thought I commented but it disappeared into cyberspace, apologies if I double post. I loved this, loved the girls’ pictures, the organized chaos, the coming together of family and friends to give some sick kids fun times in memory of one special young man. I had every intention of dropping you a note to tell you not to bother sending me baked goods, I figured you had enough on your plate and i am sad Tuck won’t get to play. Never dropped you the note, and now I am smiling at the thought there are goodies heading my way.

  8. This might be one of my favorite posts. So much good stuff going on. I marvel at Brooke’s drawing ability. I was starting to worry about your shipping costs, so I am glad to hear they were taken care of. What a family effort. Huge kuddos to Katie. Wish we could lower the President eligibility age. Thank you to ALL Wilsons!!

  9. What a gift to everyone, the Foundation, Tuck, and all of us who were able to participate … I feel guilty asking for the drawings, but I wanted to use it to show my son, what a gift really is… just something from the heart :) I feel honored to be a part of this, what an example Katie has set!

  10. All of you…simply amazing!! Your posts, stories, and run on sentences make my heart happy…thank you! Great job on this, just amazing!!

Leave a Reply

