for today

*

Friends,

I just don’t have it in me today. I have a wonderful story to share, but it’s just not today’s story, ya know?

Anyway, I couldn’t leave you with nothing, so I’m going to share some posts that I’ve read in the last week that have either made me think, laugh, or cry — OR — think, laugh AND cry all at the same time. It’s a trick, folks.

So here goes ..

.

Autistic is Okay by Stimey at Stimeyland (please take heed around kids; she swears – right out of the gate in caps, but the post is awesome so find a quiet minute and check it out.)

For more on person-first language, I also invite you to read my post, the oh-so-creatively named Person First

Edited to add: I just discovered this post on the topic as well and … well, wow … so, yeah, read this too, okay? Disability First: Autism is not an Accessory by Zoe at Illusion of Competence

.

Wordplay by Alysia at Try Defying Gravity

.

Autism, Passing, And What It Costs Us All by Linda at Outrunning the Storm

.

TPGA’s Position on Autism Organizations That Support Autistic People by the editors of Thinking Person’s Guide to Autism

.

I hope that tides you over for today.

I’ll see you tomorrow, my friends.

~

Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the little voice at the end of the day that says I’ll try again tomorrow. 

― Mary Anne Radmacher

*

Ed note: Late breaking (insert beep beep beep) news. I’m adding one. Cause I can. A Bicycle Built for One by Glennon at Momastery. You’ll know why.

9 thoughts on “for today

  1. Take it easy on yourself, Jess. Even from a distance, the emotions are brutal. These are tough days, dealing with the feelings inside, while still soldiering on. Give your spirit rest. We can wait.

  2. I’m honored to be on this list. Thank you. These other posts are wonderful too although I haven’t read Linda’s yet, so I’m headed over there now. Sending love.

Leave a Reply

