back to school

*

I have a post brewing, my friends. A big one. A really sort of terrifying one. One that – as desperately as I want to write it THISVERYSECOND – demands, and deserves, far more than the eight minutes that I have right now to write it. So it will have to continue to simmer just below the surface for one more day.

In the meantime, I thought I’d share the following. Yesterday, a friend asked for some resources to share with teachers in her kiddo’s school. Since it’s that time of year – the time so fraught with anxiety and doubt and sometimes downright abject terror and How is my baby gonna make it in school and Will he have someone looking out for him and Will there be someone who gets her, who helps her, who will take the time to understand her and Will she maybe, just maybe, make a friend?

Yup, it’s that time of year.

Here is what I shared with my friend. Please – seriously, PLEASE – add to the list in the comments!

Happy reading – I’ll see you tomorrow.

*

Momastery On Gifts and Talents

Temple Grandin’s Advice For Educating Autistic Kids

Just Stimming: Quiet Hands

Mom-NOS: A Hairdryer Kid in a Toaster-Brained World

Diary: Hopes and Dreams

Diary: How to Talk to Kids About Learning Differences – Part One and Part Two

11 thoughts on “back to school

  1. One of the biggest things I have been stating ad nauseum is just because my son looks like things are going fine doesn’t mean he isn’t working very hard. And this I credit from reading adult autistics blogs.

  2. been on vacation all week. (cymbie is doing great, btw). I will have to catch up with this weeks posts when we get back. :)

  3. Great resources. I don’t have time to read the links (again) right now, but thanks for putting so much good stuff in one spot. I finished my letter to Andrew’s team yesterday, kinda long, but it’s a little scary with only one person the same as last year. BYW-I find it so darn cute when your blog post and Luau’s show up on my FB feed at the same time!

  4. I can so relate! My son’s first day of K5 was yesterday. He’s home today needing to recoup. I find myself wanting to post, but am wanting to wait to see what the school’s response is. Thanks for sharing the resources!

  5. as a classroom resource book “How to Talk to an Autistic Kid” by Daniel Stefanski. Written by a young man with autism

  6. I admit it — I’m less than 1/4 through MOM-NOS: A Hair-dryer brain in a Toaster-Brained World — and I’m in big, fat, holy-cow-this-is-AMAZING tears.

Leave a Reply

