back

*

To you I wish to give two things

To give you roots

To give you wings

~ A painting that I bought for Katie’s nursery when she was three months old

*

“It’s time to go get our Katie back from sleep away camp” ~ Brooke. #OnOurWay

~ Saturday 5:30 am

*

When Luau and I got married, the wedding was called for 7:30 in the evening. By 6:45, I was in my dress and ready to go. I declared that it was time to get the show on the road. My mom ever so gently said, ‘Um, honey? The guests haven’t arrived yet. Heck, Jess, Luau hasn’t arrived yet.’ I had no idea what I was going to do with myself – in a wedding dress – for 45 minutes. This is worse. By a lot. #TwoHoursAndFifteenMinutesLeft

~ Saturday 7:22 am

*

Me: By the way, we’re fighting.

Luau: We are?

Me: Yup

Him: Why?

Me: We’re just not getting along well this morning. Ya know, ‘failure to communicate’ – that sorta thing.

Him: Oh really?

Me: Uh huh.

*silence*

Me: Oh, and in case you were wondering, I’m totally winning.

#FindingWaysToPassTheTime

~ Saturday 8:16 am

*

I can neither confirm nor deny the rumor that we are arriving at camp a half hour before we are allowed in. And it definitely is not because I got us all up and out ridiculously early and if Luau tells you that I’ve been mad the whole car ride because we didn’t get out even earlier, well, just remember – we’re fighting so anything he says is suspect. #Oops

~ Saturday 8:55 am

*

For the record, they let us in. We were third. And it was awesome. So. Um. I win. Obviously. ;)

~ Saturday 11:31 am

*

~ Saturday 9:15 am

*

“I missed you guys but I’m so proud and so glad I did this.” — Success. Big, fat, unmitigated success. And now, for the first time in 24 days, I can exhale.

~ Saturday 11:16

*

My favorite conversation -

Me: So you tried tennis? That’s awesome.

Her: Yeah, I even majored in it one week.

Me *Shocked that my Arts and Crafts kid majored in tennis*: Really? That’s so great. Were you good at it?

Her *laughing*: Oh, no, not at all. I actually totally sucked. Almost never hit a ball. But I was better at it in the end than I was when I started, so, ya know, there’s that.

I swear I’m gonna eat this kid whole.

~ Saturday 11:57

*

My baby girl is singing us songs from her campfire song book. Each and every one so far has been her favorite. Her sister is, in her own way ‘singing along’. And all is right in the world.

~ Saturday 2:00 pm

*

Katie, 3 hours into the car ride home: Brooke, I’m going to ignore the stuff that you’re doing that makes me mad that you’re only doing cause you know makes me mad, Okay?

Brooke: Okay

#YupTheSistersAreBackTogether

~ Saturday 3:19 pm

*

Our Grace, though it was exactly the same as it’s been every night for as long as I can remember, somehow sounded different at dinner tonight. “Thank you for the food we are about to receive and the precious gift of each other. Amen.”

~ Saturday 6:50 pm

*

She did it. By God, she really did it.

It was hard, she said. Sometimes it was really hard.

The nights in her bunk were tough. The camping trips were even tougher.

But she did it.

As we walked around the camp together, following her to her favorite places, we heard her name, again and again.

“Katie!” as girls came squealing over for hugs.

“Katie!” the lady with the clipboard said, “Miss cuteness herself.”

“Katie!” as yet another girl told her parents, “She was AMAZING in the play!”

“Katie! I’ll miss you!”

.

And then the question. The one that would tell all.

“Katie, wait!” as a girl came running up the hill for a last hug before we left. “You’re coming back next year, right?”

I held my breath.

“Of course!” she yelled back, “Are you?”

“Totally. See you next summer!”

*

She did it. By God she really did it.

I couldn’t be prouder of my baby girl.

(Or happier to have her back.)

Yes, all is right in the world.

15 thoughts on “back

  1. I’m thrilled for Katie and I’m thrilled for all of you. You gave her roots and you gave her wings. She did it and you guys did it. It wasn’t easy but you all did it!

    Love you,
    Mom

  2. I may or may not also be a little teary with Niksmom…saying we’re going to give our kids wings is easy, watching them fly is the hardest. Proud of all of you.

Leave a Reply

