the glory theirs the duty ours

-

Who kept the faith and fought the fight;
The glory theirs, the duty ours.
~Wallace Bruce

-

My friends,

If you’ve been around here for a while, you’ve heard me talk (ad nauseam you might say) about the absolutely egregious lack of care for our nation’s military children with autism. You’ve also undoubtedly heard me talk about my friend, Rachel, who is leading the fight to fix it.

Yesterday, Rachel sent the following letter to every single chief of staff of every single member of the Armed Services Committee. When she shared it with me, I knew I had to share it with you. Because together, we can help to right this disastrous wrong. We can step up to the plate to care for the families of our nation’s heroes just as they step up to the plate every day for us. We can, in twenty seconds or less, do the right thing.

If you’re pressed for time, please feel free to simply click HERE and then be on your merry way. If not, then read the following to find out why this matters so damned much.

Thank you and God Bless.

Jess

-

Happy Memorial Day Weekend, Ladies and Gentlemen of the Armed Services Committee Offices.

My name is Rachel Kenyon. I am a proud and battle-tested Army wife and mom of two beautiful babes, one with autism.

Currently, “TRICARE” military healthcare provides less than half the recommended treatments for autism, and only to children of active duty service members.

Service members who retire after more than twenty years and Wounded Warriors forced to medically retire are stripped of what little treatment TRICARE allows via the Extended Care Health Option (ECHO).

On Thursday, May 17, 2012, Congressman John Larson took to the House floor armed with embarrassingly large photos of our little family and made the case for Caring for Military Kids with Autism Act to be included as an amendment to the FY2013 NDAA. It worked, because for Mr. Larson, this had become personal. It worked because Rep. Tom Rooney had the courage to walk up to Chairman Buck McKeon and tell him it was personal. Mr. Rooney has two nephews with autism. Mr. McKeon did the right thing, because now he understood, it was personal. The amendment passed as part of the NDAA in the House.

Senator Gillibrand attempted this past week to do the same in the Senate Armed Services Committee markup session. The amendment was rejected.

I contact you today because this fight is so very personal for so many of us serving our country each day. Not only do I want my husband to feel that his more than 25 years of service warrant the medical care our daughter with autism needs, but I want my daughter to have the security of being able to access the tools that can give her a richer, more meaningful life.

It’s personal because I now hold 23,000 other children in my heart, and more than that many parents who serve our country. I love them as I love my own. I want them to feel proud of their country’s service to them in return. I want them to sleep at night, knowing that though autism may have knocked on their door, they can live their lives to the fullest with the care they need and deserve. It’s personal.

I know once you read the attached comments from your constituents, both military and civilian, you all will choose to do the right thing. To take this fight personally. To share with your fellow staffers and your Senators and Representatives that our families are proud. That our children are worthy. That if just one military child was denied the cancer treatments he or she needed, we would not be wasting time with emails and petitions. A true American who hears that 23,000 military children are being denied the medical standard of care for autism takes that personally. Well, for real American patriots, it is so very personal.

I appreciate your time and I wish you all a fun, relaxing Memorial Weekend in remembrance of those who have made the ultimate sacrifice.

Our little family will be spending another weekend living with autism in our house and struggling to understand why we have to fight this battle, too.

Best,

Mrs. Rachel E. Kenyon

Wife to Command Sergeant Major William W. Kenyon

Mother of two beautiful babes – one with autism.

http://www.change.org/petitions/congress-make-recommended-autism-treatment-available-to-all-military-children

-

Ed Note: As promised in the letter above, Rachel passed on scores of comments to the Armed Services Committee. You can read them all HERE. But of the comments, one stood out to me the most.

Jennifer — Virginia, United States 5/26/12

“I am signing this because My husband has 25+ years AD Army Special Forces, and we have an 8 year-old son with Autism. My husband has deployed multiple times throughout the various wars, which our country has been involved in since the 90′s, risking his life each time. He recently returned from a yearlong combat deployment in Afghanistan and is scheduled to deploy again in August.

My son was diagnosed with Autism at 3 years old and began Applied Behavior Analysis therapy from the age of 4 years via the Extended Heath Care Option (ECHO) Program. Although the recommended amount of ABA therapy is 30 – 40 hours/week, my son only receives 10 hours/week, not near what is recommended, but better than nothing. Due in part because of these services, my son has gone from functioning as an 18 month old to functioning of a 6 year-old; And this would not have been so had these services not been available.

Although my husband has more than enough years to retire from military service, he cannot retire for fear of losing all autism therapies for our son, because retirees are not eligible for ECHO services. As stated earlier, my husband will soon be heading back to Afghanistan for another year-long deployment. What I think is important for you to know is that if my husband is injured while serving his country in Afghanistan, and forced to medically retire, my son will no longer be eligible to receive autism therapies. Additionally, if my husband is fatally wounded while serving his county in Afghanistan, my son will no longer be eligible for autism therapies.

My husband has made many sacrifices for this county and his family. I’m signing this petition because the medically necessary therapies that my son requires should not preclude him from having a father present in his life.”

This is why, my friends. This is why I keep coming back to this topic. This is why I flew to DC twice last month, spending money I don’t have and taking time I could ill afford to take. This is why I hound my dear friend, Drew in Senator John Kerry’s office. This is why I have recently made a new friend in Senator Scott Brown’s State Director.

This is why I NEED YOUR HELP to make this right.

This is why I am begging you to take twenty seconds of your day – on Memorial Day, no less – to sign a petition that will go straight to the Armed Services Committee – the people who will debate this topic THIS WEEK.

This is why.

For Jennifer. For her husband. For their son. For Rachel. For her husband. For their daughter. For 23,000 like them. Please, do this. I can think of no better way to honor those who gave the ultimate sacrifice for our freedom than to step up to care for those who still fight.

Twenty seconds of your time can truly change lives.

I’m begging.

CHANGE.ORG

14 thoughts on “the glory theirs the duty ours

  1. Done and shared. I still don’t understand why my children have so much access to so many services that the children of our military do not. Unfair doesn’t even begin to describe it. I hope they fix this soon. Thanks for staying on top of this one.

  2. It is true patriots like you, Jess, that make our sacrifices so worth it.

    THANK YOU, EVERYONE, who takes the time today and every day to honor our proud military members and their families.

    Now, can you find 10 more people willing to do the same?

    I know you can, Friends. Because our troops are worth the effort. Our children are worthy of care.

    God bless,
    Rachel

  3. Done and comments added. My son serves in the Army and my daughter is on the spectrum. If autism ever touches his future family, I want him to be able to have access to services.

  4. Reblogged this on A Stitcher's Stitchings and commented:
    I don’t have an autistic child but I do have a husband who is in the military. I can’t imagine being put in the position to have to continue to be pulled away from your family by multiple deployments simply so that your child can get the care they need. That’s simply not right. My full support goes out to this cause.

Leave a Reply

