because they don’t get to stop fighting for us

*

Please watch this.

*

I’ve grown weary of this topic, my friends.

I’m sick of talking about it.

I’m tired of feeling like no one’s really listening when I do.

I’m frustrated.

I’m baffled by the fact that we haven’t been able to follow through on a promise to take care of the people who risk everything take care of us.

I want to walk away.

I want to throw my hands up.

I want to be done with it.

I want to move on.

But I can’t.

Because THEY can’t.

-

Because they don’t get to say no when it’s time to uproot their families and move – again.

Because despite the fact that our kids need nothing more than consistency, community and predictability, orders are orders.

Because they don’t get to say, “I miss you. I’m scared. Come home.”

Because they don’t get to give up in the middle of a deployment because doing this alone is too hard.

Because they don’t get to stop fighting for the services that their children – all of our children – so desperately need.

-

Because they don’t get to stop fighting for us.

We can’t stop fighting for them.

-

Click HERE to take action.

Click HERE to learn more.

Click HERE to provide immediate support for our military families with autism.

Click HERE to read more about why this is so important to me.

Then share it.

Because they don’t get to stop fighting for us, we can’t stop fighting for them.

Thank you.

*

Ed note: On twitter? Please consider tweeting the following: #WoundedWarriors Denied #Autism Treatments for Their Children http://youtu.be/AhSEYoMOIOg 23,000 #military kids not getting recommended care #CMKAA

14 thoughts on “because they don’t get to stop fighting for us

  1. My congressman is one of those guys who can be counted on, but I clicked that “send an email” anyway. I’m about to go click over to ActToday to donate something. I feel worse for doing this little something, because it means confronting how serious this continues to be. And some days it’s a really nice view down there with my head in the sand. But I know as hard as it is to get my boy what he needs, I’m not trying to it from half a world away, or within a totally inadequate insurance system. So click I will! Thanks, Jess, for keeping this front and center.

    Karin

  2. This should be a question asked of our presidental candidates. They should know what is going on and answer what they will do to help.

    • agreed. it should be a question we ask every candidate for every office at every level. they ALL need to know what’s going on.

  3. Reader, never commented, but I work in DC… you’ll be happy to know that the Armed Services bill the House marked up yesterday has some language for military families and autism included. I’ve pasted it below:

    It doesn’t get THERE, but it’s a start.

    Modification to the Report on Department of Defense Autism Pilot and
    Demonstration Projects
    The committee commends the Department of Defense for its continued
    efforts to ensure that military families have access to autism diagnosis,
    intervention, and treatment services. The committee encourages the Department to
    continue to assist military families with autistic children to receive the full and
    expanding range of evidence-based intervention and treatment approaches. In
    addition, the committee directs the Secretary of Defense to include in the report
    required by Section 577 of the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year
    187
    2012 (Public Law 112-81) any efforts to provide services specifically for autistic
    children of military families living in rural or underserved communities using
    mobile diagnostic capabilities.

  4. Thank you for posting this!! This bill will also help the kids of retired soldiers…like my son. His dad served over 20 years, and enlisted when promises of “health care for life” were still being made to entice people in. The clinic that my son goes to for ABA has dozens of kids of active duty soldiers who get ABA covered, but we pay out of pocket. I don’t begrudge those kids their free ABA, just a bit jealous…and angry with the powers that be for not doing the same for my son. My husband is currently working in Afghanistan, as a military contractor, and is gone over 1/2 of every year….in part so that we can afford to pay for the therapy that my little guy needs.

    • kathy,

      it shouldn’t be so hard. it just shouldn’t. and to me, the exclusion of battle worn retirees and medical discharges – for the love of God those WOUNDED in the service of their country! – is simply unconscionable. i just can’t wrap my brain around the fact that it hasn’t been fixed yet. so we plod on.

      thank you from the bottom of my heart for your family’s service.

      j

  5. Pingback: Never Leave a Fallen Solider Behind… | Mama's Turn Now

Leave a Reply

