their what?

-

All,

Before I write anything else, I have to tell you that I am utterly overwhelmed by the response to yesterday’s post. Between the blog and Facebook, within twenty-four hours over ninety of you had taken the time to tell me what it meant to you, and for that, I am so grateful.

Many of you asked (and some of you downright insisted) that I post D Day as a follow-up to Welcome to the Club. If you look over there to the right (or down below if you’re reading this on a mobile device) you’ll see that I’ve taken your advice to heart.

It means so much to me that so many of you were able to find something useful in my words. As I sit here and write at 4:30 every morning, I never know which posts will resonate with others and which will land more softly –  just for me and my girls. I so often find that the more personal the entry – the more I think I must be the only one – the more likely it is to be met with shouts of “Me too!” And I never cease to be comforted by the knowledge (that somehow feels new each time) that none of us – no matter how isolating this road can feel – truly walks alone.

So thank you. Thank you for walking the road with me and my family. I’m so grateful that you’re here.

With love,

Jess

**

But now I think it’s time to lighten things up around here. So how about a story?

Last night, Brooke had a homework sheet to fill out. The sheet consisted of eight mixed-up sentences, each missing a word. The missing words were in a box at the top of the page. Her job was to unscramble the sentences and then match the missing words with their appropriate sentences.

Which was all fine. Challenging, but fine.

Except that one of them was missing.

Do you hear that dramatic music in the background? Think Jaws.

Yup.

Brooke was frustrated. And teetering dangerously on the edge of a really, really not good place.

I called Luau over. I know I don’t get a lot of sleep, Babe, so can you take a look at this? I’m pretty sure that “The soldier was polishing his ___ doesn’t end with MORE, INTO or SUN.

Luau looked over the sheet and agreed that it was missing a word. Which was delightful. Cause, ya know, homework is already so much fun for my kid, why not throw her a curve ball, right?

NOT.

I told Brooke that whomever made the homework sheet had made a mistake and that because the right word wasn’t there, she could write in whatever word SHE thought should end the sentence.

I read it aloud one more time, prompting her – The soldier was polishing his ___?

And she took her pen to the paper to finish the sentence. And once she did, I told her it was absolutely perfect.

Cause it was.

See for yourself.

*

The Soldier was polishing his fingernails.

God I love my kid.

35 thoughts on “their what?

  1. Ha! That’s funny!

    PS delighted for you that you get to do homework and risk meltdown, we’re at defcon red from you’re previous post – wish us luck or at least the grace not to loose my rag!!

  2. Hey Jess, if you gauge the resonance of your posts by the number of comments generated, be sure to factor in those of us who refrain from joining in each day… but we’re here reading and thinking “me too.” Often it’s hard to know what else to write… but we’re here! So that’s two issues for your tech guy, a kleenex rating and a me too button! Hugs, Sarai

  3. I had a something like that happen with my son’s homework a few months ago. It was very frustrating! We too were missing a word and we had to make one up, but his wasn’t quite as interesting. LOL. That’s cute but sadly it’s not that far fetched in todays society for a man, even a man thats a soldier to polish his fingernails! :)

    • I’ve just got to ask… why “sadly”? The solider might be a woman. The soldier might be a gay man. The soldier might be a man who just happens to like the odd clear-coat matte finish manicure… None of those sound sad to me. Polish away, soldiers!

      • I have to agree with you, AndyMommy. I was confused by the “sadly” also. No matter WHAT kind of soldier is polishing their nails…more power to them…they are braver than I could ever be.

  4. We love her too!

    And of course he or she was, because I’ve heard down in the States you’ve got a lot more tolerant and diverse military these days. :)

  5. Well of course the soldier was polishing their fingernails! What else? Love it. Thanks for the giggle this morning. Needed it …yesterday’s post did me in. Could not gather the words to comment. Must glad you always have the words to share! <3

  6. So glad that the experience was as painless and humorous as it turned out to be. Glad Brooke got to see that even the teachers make mistakes sometimes.

    Thanks for the smile.

  7. A perfect response. I’m just glad you got her to fill it in. We have had a few incidences of “wrong” homework and my little guy does not take it well. It pushes his anxiety through the roof.

    Hopefully Brooke gets extra credit for her creativity on the answer.

  8. haha! perfect!! she’s either a feminist or a supporter of gay rights…either way WIN! The world is going to be a different place when all these open-minded, outside-the-box thinking kids grow up and it’s going to be a better place.

  9. What a great image that conveys!
    I wanted to let you know that I was interviewed for our local paper yesterday in advance of World Autism Day and the new CDC numbers being released. Your D Day post came at the perfect time and when the reporter asked me about feeling isloated I mentioned the post and your blog and what a great source of support the internet has been for me. This morning when the news photograher came to take photos, we learned that she has a son with autism who is 24 and living independently. I thanked her for sharing her story with us and wanted to say the same to you.

  10. Ahh…I wish I were her teacher. Many days when I read your posts I have that thought…but today…I would LOVE to see the response when she hands it in. Those are always my favorite assignments to grade. :)
    (Not the ones that screwed up and left something out, because I know that’s frustrating as all get out…but the ones where creativity comes in to play.)

  11. God, I love your kid too! This made me think of the play she was in, and what a kick she got out of delivering the funny lines and making everyone laugh. Any old ninny can come up with a soldier polishing boots; your girl happens to be able to imagine soldiers with a bit more style. Love it!!

Leave a Reply

