like your kids live here

*

I saw this sign the other day.

And I thought, My God, this is genius.

*

And I wondered.

What if we could litter the world with these?

What if we could make signs that said ACT like your kids live here?

Or, I don’t know, maybe -

SPEAK like your kids live here -

-OR-

ACT with the compassion you would so desperately want for them if your kids lived here

photo credit: Samuel He

-OR-

Before you forward hateful sh-t like this*

THINK of how you would feel about it if your kid lived here**

-OR-

Before you make a stupid joke like this

THINK about how you would feel putting your baby on that bus every morning with your heart in your mouth because you have to trust so many people with the most precious thing in your world until that bus’s return in the afternoon.

(OK, maybe that one is a little too long.)

So how about this -

Before you laugh along with this


THINK about how you would feel if your kid lived here

photo by Kathleen Connerton

*

We’re all in this together.

SO Please.

ACT

LIKE YOUR

KIDS

LIVE HERE

* A high school acquaintance of mine put this up on Facebook. Not only did HE obviously find it funny, but the comments ran along the theme of “friggin hilarious, dude.” Well, until mine, that is.

** This beautiful little girl is Clarice. She is desperate for a loving, nurturing home. Please click HERE to learn more.

27 thoughts on “like your kids live here

  1. YES! This is brilliant. If everyone would think before they speak or turn the tables on their own lives before they sling an insult I think we’d see a real turn towards compassion.

  2. And with this being World Down Syndrome day, I thank-you on behalf of my beautiful cousin Michael and the many many children I know who have Down Syndrome!

  3. You know what? If more kids had the pure joy I saw looking at the photo of Clarice the world would be a better place.

  4. this was pure perfection!! I want to go and invest in some of those signs myself!! Words hurt more than people know or care to think about…. the bruises are left in a place not seen by the eye – they are left on the heart….. thank you so much for this post – I hope it wakes some people up!

  5. and….. if my circumstances allowed, I would open my home to every Clarice out there – I hope someone sees this and makes her part of their family – prayers that she finds a home, and all the other children – very, very soon.

  6. I felt like I was going to throw up…people find that stuff funny?! So wrong. I hope you don’t mind, but I am sharing this on my facebook page. It should be shared with the world…

    BTW, my son receives special bussing from our district. He rides the bus every day. I cringe when people joke about the “short bus”.

  7. So this was perfect. And I went to the site to learn more about Clarice and fell in love with all of the kids. OMG. How my heart aches to wrap them all up in my arms and love them all.

    We all really DO need to ACT like our kids live here. ALL of our kids. Each and every single child. This is so simple. Yet so powerful, Jess.

    As mom to a beautiful little girl with a genetic syndrome and autism, I simply do not accept that we act like they are invisible, or marginalize who they are with ‘jokes’, or bend *them* to fit the world.

    It is time for the world to bend to fit our kids. Because they *are* here. And they *are* perfect.

    xo
    Thanks, Jess. So much. Thank you.

  8. This is powerful and NEEDS to be heard. Ignorance is one of the worst traits passed on to the generation of children growing up alongside my son. How adults can make fun of the vulnerable still shocks and disgusts me. Thank you for this post. Sharing it now.

  9. Reblogged this on Hike. Blog. Love. and commented:
    Jess at Diary of a Mom wrote this must-read post. Please take a moment to read and to share. Also, today is World Down Syndrome day, be sure to check out the link about Clarice, a child with Down Syndrome waiting for a forever family.

  10. oh my god. . . I’ll never take a warm shower again as long as I LIVE with all these damn kids living here!

  11. I teach kids, and I’ve said it before: teach the kid, and you know the environment they come from.

    From “Into the Woods” —
    Careful the things you say
    Children will listen
    Careful the things you do
    Children will see and learn
    Children may not obey, but children will listen
    Children will look to you for which way to turn
    To learn what to be
    Careful before you say “Listen to me”
    Children will listen

    Oh Jess. Your post. Yes. Yes.

  12. Once again I spent hours thinking about the diary post I read at breakfast, and then spent lunch reading and thinking about the comments. Jess, you ask the really big questions– the why and how questions. Why are people so terrible in their thoughtlessness? How can we change that? The answers aren’t obvious, but the questions are powerful. Just by asking them, you provoke learning.

    Karin

  13. This might be one of my all time favorite posts. I’m so glad you wrote it. It is so important. Well done. And thank you for sharing it.

  14. Perhaps if more people chose to see our children —REALLY SEE THEM —there would be fewer tragedies like Katy McCarron and George Hodgins. Not only because parents would have more support (including mental health resources), but programs would be designed with the fulfillment of our children in mind. They would have purpose and add greater value in the eyes of society at-large. I hope we see this in our lifetime.

  15. I hope that you sent this post to your high school acquaintance and that person realizes how wrong he was. Thank you for your beautiful words!

  16. In real life, only someone autistic would spend the time and effort to analyze the social network of a high-school without participating in it. I find there nothing insulting about about the question in the film clip. If someone had asked me that 30 years ago, things might have turned out differently, perhaps for the better.

  17. I must say I was planning on seeing 21 Jump Street. However, after that it really made me mad. Why do people say things like that? Just because a child has a disability does not mean they are not a human being with no feelings. I appreciate your blog.

Leave a Reply

