take two

Diary of a Mom Facebook Status ~ December 3 at 7:36am

The plan for today is the Radio City Christmas Spectacular with Uncle Paul and his family. When he first suggested it, we were just coming off of our success at Godspell and I felt emboldened to try. But anxiety is running HIGH this morning and Mama’s confidence is waning. *gulp*

.

Diary of a Mom Facebook Status ~ December 3 at 3:02pm

For nearly 2/3 of the first act it was great. And then it, well .. wasn’t – summed up by Brooke shouting, ‘It killed me!’ and Katie sobbing while saying, ‘I just feel like everyone thinks Brooke needs you more than I do and it’s just not true’ (at the same time). Good times. #Don’tKnowUnlessYouTry

.

Diary of a Mom Facebook Status ~ December 3 at 5:59pm

I’m trying really hard not to live in anger tonight, but truth be told, I want nothing more than to take autism and its best buddy anxiety out to the woodshed and beat the crap out of them both.

.

Diary of a Mom Facebook Status ~ December 6 at 8:16 pm

I’m calling a do-over. I bought two tickets tonight to the Radio City Christmas Spectacular. Come hell or high water, Katie is going to get to see that show – with her mama sitting next to her the whole damn time. #WhatWeDoToMakeItRight

.

My personal Facebook Status ~ last night, approximately 7pm …

Chinese before the thee-ay-ter

*

Last night was the night.

The beginning of the evening damn near did me in. Already running late, I left the house in the rain without cash, a coat or an umbrella. I left us barely enough time to eat and in my haste to park I … well … I may or may not have driven Luau’s car into a chain that I didn’t see across an entrance to a parking lot and said chain may or may not have been forcibly dragged across his entire hood, scratching the living $@!% out of it in the process. Maybe.

And I may or may not have even sort of cried a little ’cause it was just too God damn much and I was starting to worry that I was seriously losing my stuffing because I really couldn’t figure out how it was that I could drive a car into a chain without seeing it until it was nearly in my lap.

But this is Katie.

She shrugged, insisted that the chain should have been painted yellow so that people could actually see it, reminded me a thousand times that the garage man said it has happened to other people too and that it was not just dark but raining so ‘it totally wasn’t your fault so please don’t worry about it’ and off we went.

She thanked me again an again for bringing her back. She squealed like she’d won a trip to Hawaii when I told her that yes, she was even allowed to get a soda if that was what she wanted. And cotton candy. And sure, baby, popcorn too. Why not?

Appreciation oozed from her pores.

We took silly pictures.

We laughed.

We ate cotton candy.

And we settled in to watch the show – again.

And it was kind of wonderful.

The end.

28 thoughts on “take two

  1. And I’m kind of thrilled. Nothing wrong with do-overs; typically, edits produce my best work. It would seem to have worked in this situation as well. Now, where’s my cotton candy?!

  2. The great and the terrible! So sorry about the car and the tension but so thrilled for you and Katie for the “take two”. You did the right thing (yet again). The pictures say it all!

    Love you,
    Mom

  3. You are a great mama. Memories she will always have, that you did a “take two” just for her. The look on her face in that last picture says it all.

  4. I often assure Nathan that if something doesn’t work out because it was just too hard for his brother, he and I will come back again. So glad Katie got to experience this with you.

  5. If you could make a little Katie doll, complete with all of her reassurances when we feel like we’ve screwed up and we’re about to lose it all, I think you’d be a rich woman. We could all buy one and keep her with us and just press a button when we need a little encouragement or little reminders that we’re all just human and to see things from a different perspective. She’s the calm we all need when we feel we’re out of control and can’t handle much more. You are so very blessed to have her (and all of her infinite wisdom) in your life. I wish we could all have a Katie by our side every day!

  6. That last picture.

    I live for that picture.

    OF COURSE you bought the cotton candy. And the popcorn.

    And I sure as h*ll hope you bought her the pink elephant that they brought out for Act II, because nobody deserves it more.

    xo

  7. Ooops..about the car! And YAY about the show!!!!!!! I’m so happy you got a do over. and your girl Katie is just BEAUTIFUL…inside and out! xoxoxo

  8. Cars are easily repaired but Katie will remember that experience forever!! It would have been a good time for her to ask for a pony, right? I want a do-over too, for about 4857 parts of my life over the past 10 years. I’m seriously going keep that idea in mind, so simple and yet such a great thing for the sibs, way to go Mom!!

  9. Oh Jess, I am so glad you went back with Katie and that you had such a wonderful time.
    No worries about the chain, compound and a rag will be a quick fix! That’s how I may or may not conceal damage in my husband’s car!

    Hugs,

  10. I love that story, We went with Tom and Ali right after Thanksgiving and we had the best time. The last time we saw the show Jeff was with us and the whole experience was overwhelming….that was about 20 yrs. go. It took us a little longer to go back with Tom and Ali but our experiences were similar in that the kids were soooo happy to have us all to themselves!! We really enjoyed the whole experience…..I am so glad you and Katie had that time together!! Merry, Merry!!

  11. *standing O*

    it’s going to resonate with her that when everything was crazy and you had to leave to care for Brooke, you still heard what she said about needing you.

  12. She is such a remarkable young lady in the making… always ready to share insight into the beautifully simply, yet holy-heck complications life has to offer.

    She’s such a gem. (Like her mother ;0)

    So happy to hear that the two of you were able to make ‘take two’ so memorable. xo

Leave a Reply

