#youmightbeanautismparentif…

.
.
If you’re on Twitter, you may have noticed something of a phenomenon lately. Over the last week or so, a community has begun to form. Some brilliant soul (if you know her / him / them please leave details in the comments!) began to use the hash tag #YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf .. and it caught on. Like really caught on.
.
Parents of children with autism are connecting with one another around the hash tag. They’re sharing their stories – 140 characters at a time, they’re offering us all windows into their family’s celebrations, their heart-breaks, and above all, their overwhelming love for their kids.
.
It’s a pretty amazing thing.
.
I both love and hate reading the various tweets. I love them because they remind me that we’re not alone. I hate them because .. well, they remind me that we’re not alone.
.
The following are some of the tweets that I’ve posted there over the past few days.
.
If you see yourself in any of them, come on over and join the conversation.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif you find yourself celebrating and heartbroken – at the same time and for the exact same reason.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif you work and pray for the day that you can finally shut the hell up because your child can self-advocate.
.
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve listened in vain for the hoofbeats and then remembered – we ARE the cavalry.
.
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve asked a doctor if every degree came with a crystal ball, or just theirs.
.
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve spent a lot of time debating ‘has autism’ vs ‘autistic’ and still feel comfortable with neither.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif you stop and think about the implications of anything you type here – other parents, indiv’s w autism, NT public
.
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you are desperately grateful for a community whose very existence you curse.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif letting your autistic child pick up the phone when telemarketers call just feels right.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif the “F word” in your house is FLEXIBLE.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif you’re pretty damn impressed with yourself for not crying until AFTER the meeting.
.
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you know every word to every (fill in the blank) movie ever made.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif you have lost your ability to stomach pretense in any form.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif you’re sitting alone w your kid in her room while the whole family is gathered downstairs for thanksgiving.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif you’re trying really hard to be thankful 2day, but your heart breaking for your kiddo is making it awfully tough
.
Amended to add:
.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you simply can’t die. EVER.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve started to think that flapping and spinning is actually a pretty reasonable response to the world.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf You know full well that you ‘buy’ a good day with a tough evening. #kidcanonlyholdittogethersolong
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf the next person who tells you that God doesn’t give you more than you can handle might want to duck.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve learned to stay eerily calm in the middle of a sh-tstorm.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve ever seriously considered taking a swig of your kid’s anxiety meds.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you don’t *prioritize* so much as *triage*.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve learned that human suffering is not a competitive sport @autismville
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you try to get the dark black smudged eye liner under your eyes off, only to remember you’re not wearing makeup.
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif you’re just like a regular parent – on steroids.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you know that when you’ve met one person with autism, you’ve met *one* person with autism.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’re pretty sure your kid would never leave the house if given the choice.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you + kiddo are in pjs @ 5:45 on fri night bc the planned family dinner out never made it out of the house.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve discovered that ‘family’ need not be defined by blood.
**
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf when you call for someone across the house your child reacts as tho you’ve just seared her w a branding iron.
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif you know details of (fill in the blank) that no one should know. #DoratheExplorer‘slastnameisMarquez.
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif your child asks you where ‘your husband’ (who happens to be her daddy) is at any given time. Just us?
Amended again to add:
#youmightbeanautismparentif you ALWAYS have a strategy, a backup plan and a predetermined escape route.
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif you’ve spent a lot of time on the other side of the door – wp.me/pNO8N-2Ft @spdbn
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif some days you just don’t have the tools to make it better. And it hurts like hell.
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif you get angry at times, but you know that it doesn’t serve you or your child to live there for long.
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif .. the #CommunityBragPage makes ur heart soar with the POSSIBILITY of what r kids CAN do -wp.me/PNO8N-1
jess
#YouMightbeanautismparentif your definition of ‘funny’ has changed. A lot.
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif you know that behavior IS communication.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you barely glance at Twitter outside this hash tag cause a) you’re out of time and b) all the cool kids are here
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you know that ‘autistic people lack a sense of humor’ is also horsesh-t.squashedmom.com/2010/09/twinkl… @squashedmom
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf when you say ‘there aren’t enough hours in a day’ you know for sure because you’re up for almost all of them.
jess
RT – @trishpip#youmightbeanautismparentif you have gained a lot of weight because you eat your stress. – (hell, I eat your stress too) lol
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif your kid can’t tell you what happened an hour ago, but three years ago? #rememberseverydetail
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you know that autism is one word, but there is no one autism.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you would give anything to crawl inside that beautiful mind and find out what’s going on in there.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you would give anything and everything you have to sustain those fleeting moments of connection with your child.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf when the smoke alarm in your house gets triggered, so does Armageddon.
jess
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you know that ‘People with #Autismlack empathy’ is horsesh-t.
jess
#youmightbeanautismparentif you’ve spent a lot of time on the other side of the door – wp.me/pNO8N-2Ft @spdbn
**
.
And, not for nothin’, but I’ve got to share some of my all time favorite Diary mentions:
.
.
#youmightbeanautismparentif your morning news comes from @diaryofamom
.
@MoniqueAscencio:
.
#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you know who Brooke, Rhema & Bud (& a few others) are. & U cheer & cry 4 them as much as u do ur own child.
**
.
If you’re not on Twitter yet, here’s your excuse. It’s easier than it looks, I swear. Just open an account HERE, follow me @diaryofamom and then click on the part of any recent tweet that says #youmaybeanautismparentif to get to all the tweets using that hash tag.
.
See you there!
.

22 thoughts on “#youmightbeanautismparentif…

  1. Thanks for sharing the tweets here. I have to resist the lure of joining simply as a method of self control and time management.

  2. #youmightbeanautismParentif you dread family Christmas because you know your child is not going to understand why his 2 cousins got 3ds’s and he did not. And why family members don’t understand why I gave them fair warning to prepare for the inevitable meltdown.

  3. Okay this post was great!!!! I have yet to venture into the world of tweeting. I think the twitter as the noun and tweet as the verb….well let’s just say this autism mommy brain has had a bit of a hard time wrapping her head around it…throw in the hash tag and well looking at it is a bit of sensory overload for this gal. But on this Black Friday I am going to give it a try.
    I think my will first tweet will be…..#youmightbeanautismparentif you think you have two child brain with a little autism sprinkled on top.
    Heading over to give it a try now…..wish me luck!

  4. I thought of you as we decorated the Christmas tree last night. Kate had 3 meltdowns in a row and as I laid on the floor spreading the tree skirt out I thought, “Why the hell is this so hard? It never gets easier!” and then I suddenly realized the consistent factor—AUTISM. I guess the dream in my mind about each holiday somehow blocks out this factor. I am writing a note and putting it in each Christmas box this year when we pack everything up. “Unless there has been a cure for autism in the last year, do not expect a miracle today!” Lots of love and, as always, thank you for always making me feel “normal”. ~Becky

  5. Elise of @raisingASDkids started this wonderful trend. In twitter conversation she said was just supposed to be a game with @manyhatsmommymi. She had no idea would become so big! (they are both great to follow on twitter btw) It is huge an I am so thankful to be a part of it.

    • Lydia- I love the #youmightbeanautieif. In fact I am currently drafting my post with my #youmightbeanautismparentif – taking forever to cut & paste! But at end was going to reference the other two movements- there is also a #youmightbeanaspieif trending.

      Also linking the other posts like this one by other bloggers about the trend. I know a few others on twitter are collecting links as well :)

  6. I don’t think I can add twitter. If I do, it will officially make my day centered around this computer!

    There is also a fb page dedicated to “you know you” having to do with autism.

    hugs

  7. Pingback: #youmightbeanautismparentif | The Aspie Side of Life

  8. Pingback: You might be an Autism parent if… — Unhandicapping the Disabled Life

  9. I never felt comfortable on twitter until I started using it to have conversations a few weeks ago, and this meme came at the right time for me to deal with the chaos and frustrations of dealing with the holidays, family expectations and making it work for my kids without losing my mind. I met some amazing new tweeps and and felt completely immersed in a community of people who got me. There were so many great comments – insightful, witty, snarky, and just flat out supportive. I inhaled all of them and they totally empowered me.

    Thanks for the shout out Jess. I’m glad it made you smile, b/c you and alot of others have done a ton for me this past week.

  10. So, I am not an Autism mama, but I would say #youmightbeanautismparentif you hare oppened the eyes of just one person like me. Because the more you know about others and what you can do to work/live/communicate with them, the better any situation can be. So thank you to one of the best communities out there yet one of many I hate has to exsist at all.
    On that I truly I have not offended any of you

  11. Jess,
    I keep waiting for Word Press & Facebook to get a Love button, but they haven’t yet, so I liked your post & want to tell you that I actually love it! @Lydia I think that is a great idea too. @AspieSide we should start a fourth one, YouMightBeInTheAutismCommunityIf. I love all of these!

  12. “#YouMightBeAnAutismParentIf you’ve spent a lot of time debating ‘has autism’ vs ‘autistic’ and still feel comfortable with neither.”

    Oh my gosh – this! yes

  13. All good & ringing with truth ! Thank goodness for all of you…..we’ve had a helleva challenging last few days ourselves ! Bless we autism moms & our ferocity & conviction on our childrens’ behalves. Hugs & kisses to all……

Leave a Reply

