thank you, mr mark

*

Strange is our situation here upon earth. Each of us comes for a short visit, not knowing why, yet sometimes seeming to divine a purpose. From the standpoint of daily life, however, there is one thing we do know: That we are here for the sake of others – for the countless unknown souls with whose fate we are connected by a bond of sympathy. Many times a day, I realize how much my outer and inner life is built upon the labors of people, both living and dead, and how earnestly I must exert myself in order to give in return as much as I have received.

~ Albert Einstein

.

Just after Brooke and I returned from our trip to New York, I received the following note on Diary’s Facebook page.

Dear Diary of a Mom….

Greetings from Sydney, Australia.

I have been reading your blog for several months. I am blown away. I have been addicted to Godspell since I was a child. I’m now 43. I understand your daughters obsession. The show was responsible for me having a career in this business we call ‘show’. I have been working as a performer for 34 years now, having started professionally at the age of 9.

I have a large collection of Godspell ephemera from all over the world that I have been collecting for 30 years. I would like to send a gift to your daughter from my collection…to spread it to someone else who would appreciate it. Your story (particularly the latest episodes from the revival) have touched me so deeply. I have a few items in my collection that I think your daughter might enjoy. I’m not asking for anything in return … you have given me more than I could ever want already by sharing your beautiful story.

I hope to hear from you.

May All Good Gifts be yours!

Mark

I didn’t know what to say. Mark and I connected and he told me more – much more in fact – of his story.

His life could not be more different from Brooke’s. He lives across the globe. He grew up in a very different time and in a very different place than my girl. They should, for all intents and purposes, have nothing in common.

Yet, as it does for Brooke, something about this show spoke – and continues to speak – to him. It quite literally changed the course of his life, and helped, in dramatic fashion, to shape who he has become.

Last night, a package arrived from Australia. It contained a set of ‘window cards’ that had been used as advertisements in theaters for the original 1973 Godspell movie.

They were the most perfect gift imaginable.

Brooke was in heaven. And so was her Mama.

After a long, hard day, there was nothing better than this.

*

.

Thank you, Mr. Mark.

I do not have the words to tell you how much this truly means.

23 thoughts on “thank you, mr mark

  1. You have managed to touch people across the globe, Jess! They are paying it forward. It’s incredibly beautiful and I thank “Mr. Mark”, as well.

    Love you,
    Mom

  2. So thankful for the Mr. Marks of this world. In our case it’s a Miss Kim and boxes upon boxes of bird books, photos and magazines…yet it’s the same…giving without reservation for the sole purpose of sharing a passion and seeing the delight it brings to our kiddos. So happy for Brooke!

  3. I love hearing about people like Mark. People are moved all the time by the stories they hear. Not all of them act on it.

    Bravo, Mr. Mark. We adore that little girl and her entire family. So that kind of generosity kinda means that you rock. :)

  4. It is one thing to be moved by someone, but it is far better to act on that feeling. Mr. Mark is obviously a very special person and his gift to our little girl is really a gift to all of us. He lives the kind of world that you Jessica, have been building for all of us as well.
    Thank you Mr. Mark from a greatful grandfather.
    love you Jess,
    Dad

  5. That is so lovely! And the video is adorable. I discovered Diary a month ago and just finished reading all the back entries! So much of what you write rings true, reminds me of life growing up with my younger brother who has Asperger’s syndrome. I see a lot of myself in Katie :)

    Best wishes and God bless. x

  6. Somehow your posts have a way of hitting me every single day. Just when I was beginning to shake my fist at humanity, Mr. Mark goes and restores my faith.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

