somebody get my agent on the phone

*

On Sunday night, I posted the following on Diary’s Facebook page ~

“OK, so vanity would normally keep me from sharing this publicly, but I decided we all could use the laugh and the ‘OMG, me too’ realization that *many* of us with little (and not so little!) sensory seekers often serve as human jungle gyms. Earlier this evening, with anxiety running high, Little Miss attached herself to mama – literally. This is how she was watching TV.”

.

.

7,792 views and 169 responses later, it was obvious that I was not the only one who has ever worn a child as a scarf – er, head wrap.

*

After taking a break for dinner – which Brooke (mostly) managed to sit through in her own seat –  she returned to her role as a koala.

But this time, instead of clinging to Mama, she wrapped herself around her Daddy.

Which looked like this ~

.

.

Now listen, I know that parenting is not a contest – particularly between spouses.

Because clearly, that would be unhealthy.

Not to mention REALLY immature.

But seriously.

Let’s review, shall we?

Me ~

.

.

Him ~

.

*

I am SO not winning.

(Ya know, if it were a contest.)

(Which it’s not.)

But still.

.

Ed Note: If you’re new to Diary, welcome.

(The following was originally published on Oct 7, 2011 and updated this morning.) 

As my dear friend Mom-NOS would say, I welcome you to this, my virtual living room. I think you’ll find it’s a pretty comfortable place. We’re not much for standing on ceremony around here, so kick off your shoes, let the dogs up on the couches and settle in for a while. I’ll get the coffee brewing and we can get to know one another. 

If you’d like to explore, by all means do. You’ve got the run of the place. If you’d prefer the nickel tour, the following links (in blue) might be some good places to start. 

*

If you have a child with a disability, recently diagnosed or otherwise. Welcome to the Club.

If your kid is annoying the crap out of you. Mom, Watch This.

If you are struggling. Avalanche.

If you want to learn more about the autism community. My Trip to the White House and Autism Street.

If you want to know how autism and Sensory Processing Disorder affect a family. No More than a Hiccup and The Donut Shop.

If you want to know why I think disclosure is so important – and why the ‘label’ itself may be the ticket to community for people with autism. The Conversation Revisited.

If you want to know how connections can be made in the unlikeliest of places. Babe.

If you want to understand what autism is. Hairdryer Kid in a Toaster Brain World by Mom-NOS.

If you want to know why my eight year-old is obsessed with a 1970’s movie. Godspell Part One

If you want to know what happened when I took her to New York to see the Broadway Revival of said 1970’s movie. The Harvest Part Two

If you want to know why I really want you to read this: Veteran’s Day.

If you want to know where your money goes when you donate to autism research. What I heard.

If you want to know why perception matters. MIT.

If you want to know why the president needs to light the White House blue in April. This is My Autism.

If you want to know how loving someone with autism changes you. Real.

If you want to know why I’d prefer you not use the R word. That’s Retarded.

If you think autistic people lack empathy. Autistic People Lack Empathy – Except Not.

If you want to get to know some of my favorite adults on the spectrum (not a one of whom lacks empathy, for the record). Look Me in the Eye, Incipient Turvy and Aspie from Maine.

If you want to learn about autism self-advocacy. ASAN

If you want to know how much I love my girls. I See the Moon, Nine Years Ago Tomorrow and All You Need to Know. (Or really any post on the whole dang blog.)

*

Oh geez. I guess the nickel tour turned into a quarter, huh? Sorry about that. It’s just that, well, it’s a pretty big house. So what say I leave you to it? Coffee’s almost up. I’ll grab the cups. In the meantime, I really hope you’ll make yourself at home. 

16 thoughts on “somebody get my agent on the phone

  1. No, no. When she was wrapped on you she needed more vestibular and proprioceptive input (it appears she’s a little upside down.) You helped her regulate SO WELL that she could then monkey wrap dad. Ok, that may have been the strangest sentence I have typed. Personally your moment is so much funnier and so accurately sums up most of our worlds!!

  2. I’m not sure which is funnier…the photos or Liz’s comment about the strangest sentence typed! LOL I think she’s right, though…you CLEARLY were providing more input! ;-)

  3. Just amazing! Every single piece you have written some mother or father is going through right now and if they read your blog they will feel a little less alone. Thank u

  4. This is really funny. And, yeah, you got the short end of the stick on that one. :)

    GREAT list of links. I know I’ve read most of those posts before, but I feel like I should go back and read again. You are such a tremendous voice. Thank you for all your hard work. Even if you get the butt end sometimes.

Leave a Reply

