weekend in pictures – part one

On Saturday, I was determined to do something fun with the girls in Daddy’s absence. The day was hot, sticky and overcast and the skies were threatening to open at any moment. Which I realized, in our world, was perfect.

The normally packed-to-the-gills orchard would be more or less empty. Because, well, who wants to go walk around an orchard when the weather pretty much sucks? Yup. We do. And it worked. It allowed us a day that we never could have had otherwise. No lines, no crowds, no crazy waits to park or ride the train. Oh, and no petting zoo. The one that Brooke was really, really, really excited for. Apparently, there weren’t enough people to bother opening it and well, OK that part really kind of sucked, but hey, the rest was pretty much awesome.

First there was a ride on this …

.

.

(Which looked like this) …

.

.

And brought us to this …

.

.

Then there were rides on these … (Notice Katie in the background chatting up the ponies’ handler. Yeah, that’s my kid.)

.

.

And then a ride on this …

.

.

Then there was some peekin out of here ..

.

.

Followed by some sliding down here …

.

.

Then there was a little of this … (gotta love the too-cool-for-school hat offset by the gatorade mustache. tweendom, ain’t it grand?)

.

.

And, um, this …

.

.

Then, for the sake of honest reporting, I will tell you that the slide was followed by a disastrous trip to the bouncy house. Brooke was completely derailed for a while and even Katie was pretty rattled. I wondered if our day was shot to hell then and there, which would have been a shame as we hadn’t picked a single piece of fruit yet, but thankfully we managed to get it back on track. During this delightful half hour or so (not), my camera was in my pocket because, well, who takes pictures when the wheels are flying off the wagon, right? Right. But there you have it – the whole story. Ya know, pretty much. Moving on ..

Then it was back on this …

.

.

So that we could finally do some of this …

.

.

So that we could make one of these … (For the record, this looked way better in person. Seems I’m much more skilled at taking pictures of cute kids than food.)

.

.

And a couple of these …

.

.

To bring to the guys who wear these …

.

To be continued …

Ed note: I would like to thank everyone who was instrumental in getting CARA – the Combating Autism Reauthorization Act passed in the Senate last night. I am so grateful for the dogged dedication of people like my friend Judith Ursitti and all of her colleagues at Autism Votes along with Senator Menendez for his leadership, my state’s Senators Kerry and Brown for their sponsorship and so many others who made this possible simply by refusing to give up on our kids. I would like to particularly thank Senator Kerry, his State Director, Drew O’Brien and all of their staff members for their commitment to our community. Their support has been invaluable.

16 thoughts on “weekend in pictures – part one

  1. Love the pictures – what a great way to start the day. What I love most is the fierce love you see from Katie in every one she’s in with Brooke. I have boys (and had a brother), so girls (and sisters) are kind of different for me. But they are special!

  2. Love it!! I went to an apple orchard, too (on Sunday when I was visiting friends in CT). It was fun but the weather definitely wasn’t putting on the “isn’t autumn grand” vibe!!! Love the pix, love your candor in sharing with us your wheels off the wagon moment. Glad it was such a great trip overall!

  3. Gorgeous photos of your gorgeous girls. Yeah, I once took a picture of Jake loosing it… not pretty. I now keep the camera in the pocket for that, these days.

    And YES! for the passing of the bill. I used to live in Massachusetts. Love (nearly) all the politicians from there, always. Mass. & Vermont senators usually seriously rock.

  4. What a great time you all had! My favorite is Brooke getting her face painted! How great that she even let them do it! My sons scripted response to face painting is ALWAYS “No thank you, my face doesn’t want painted.” Have a great fall ladies, lookslike you kicked it off the right way!

  5. Best thing I’ve seen all week!

    For the pies – brush with milk on top and then sugar them OR give a really light egg white wash.

    That is some VERY good pie crust right there, ma’am.

  6. gah…yeah, so i’m saying it again, those girls are freakin gorgeous. Love seeing pics of the people we’ve grown to care about! Thanks for sharing them with us.

  7. Apple picking has come a long way since I was a kid. Camel rides? Face painting? Back in the ’80s we just got a bucket and a stern warning not to fall out of a tree. (Then we put baked potatoes in our pockets and walked uphill both ways to school.) Great pictures! Looks like you had a blast.

  8. The photos are beautiful. And I’m speechless that CARA passed. I’m so cynical, it’s good to get a nice surprise for a change.

  9. My fave pics? The hat and gatorade mustache and little miss as a firefighter! Food…HARD to photograph well. There are people who “dress” food for a living and who make sure the lighting etc is just perfect. I’d say you done good there! Yum!

  10. love the photos. fun was had. wheels? they came off, but were quicky replaced. the fun continued. pie was made, delivered. thank you for the visual narrative of the day, such a treat.

Leave a Reply

