of angels and cross blogination

When God wants to speak and deal with us, He does not avail himself of an angel but of parents, or the pastor, or of our neighbor.

~ Martin Luther

*

One of my very favorite things about writing a blog (and yes, there are MANY), is something my friend, M calls cross-blogination. The concept is simple – a blog writer reads a post on another blog, is moved by something s/he finds there and takes it back home to chew on it for a while. Then s/he turns it into a post of their own.

They may choose to dispute or dismantle the original idea or to look at it from an entirely different angle, or maybe, to simply take it, run with it and see where it takes them.

Yesterday, after reading THIS POST, Cera over at LearnLoveLiveLaugh (I know, awesome title for a blog, right?) wrote THIS POST which then prompted me to go back to my archives to find THIS POST and well, the whole chain just feels kinda magical, doesn’t it? At the very least, it is sending me on my way this morning on the lookout for the everyday angels who will cross my path today.

As a matter of fact, I think it’s fair to say that I’ve already found one.

Thank you, Cera!

Ed note: Please click on the words in blue to read the posts to which they refer. Thanks and Happy Friday!


13 thoughts on “of angels and cross blogination

  1. I love that cross blogination stuff. And yes, thank you, having read all these, I will be thinking of our “angels” all day, now, too.

    Jake had one at his school — one of the Paras in his classroom. All of the teachers, therapists and staff there are beyond lovely, but this one is just super special. She was the very first person we met when I brought him to his (then) new school this year. Her face lit up, ear to ear, with the warmest most heartfelt smile I have ever encountered as she welcomed us and told us she was the one who greets and brings the kids off the busses each morning. I felt every last bit of trpidation at the whole “new school” thing melt at that moment, kew he was in good hands.

    And Ms. K has cared for my son with such open warmth and gentle good cheer each and every day this year. Truly an angel.

    (And you know? I’ve been writing a post about her in my head for a while now – think I’ll make it real soon – thanks for the cross-blogination inspiration, Jess!)

    • nice! it’s like that commercial from the eighties .. ‘and she told two friends, and she told two friends .. ‘ :)

  2. These angels are the people we celebrate with the “Golden Heart Awards” inour school district! What would we do without these special people in our kids lives?

  3. Angels Yes! Blogination Yes! Jess I loved this post. Please know that you are an angel to so many. Your words are a gift and they help others in ways that you will never know. Thank you for spreading your wings and sharing. The power of your insight, honesty, courage, and of course that keyboard well it can’t be measured. Thank you!

  4. Pingback: Borrowing « LearnLoveLiveLaugh's Blog

  5. Jess, thank you for the cross-blogination! And thank you for the compliment on my blog title. The title of my blog means a lot to me and your compliment made it mean that much more. You are an amazing angel and I thank God for all you do!

Leave a Reply

