what she missed

**

Thank you all so very much for your love and support following yesterday’s post. I received links to (and incredibly generous offers from) some wonderful photographers and for that I am grateful. There are photographers out there who get it. There are some who already have experience with our kids and many others who are simply open, patient and kind and who, most importantly, are willing to toss aside their preconceived notions about picture-taking and meet our families right where we are right this very second.

I continue to have faith that everything – real family photo and all – is possible, as long as we find the right people to help us along the way.

In the meantime, I’d like to share with the original Twit some of what she missed. Yes, she did get the shot that I told her that I didn’t want or need. Hooray for her. I hope she earned the Everybody’s Obediently Looking At My Camera badge to wear on her photographer’s sash.

But what she missed was my girls. And, well, that’s a heck of a thing to miss out on.

**

Photos by Mama 

All images exclusive property and copyright of Diary of a Mom, 2011.

(In other words, mitts off my pics.)

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

But hey, awkwardly posed and looking into the camera is good too.

Really.

**

Ed note: The links in the first and second paragraphs are to photographers whose links I received yesterday. I have no experience nor personal relationships with any of them, so my linking to them does not constitute an endorsement of any kind, but rather my gratitude for their willingness to work with our families. If I left anyone out, please leave their information in the comments below. – Jess

31 thoughts on “what she missed

  1. I love the photos you took….you captured your girls. The beach is ALWAYS a great place to photograph..the light, the reflections..are just wonderful. I have been photographing my kids (and many others) for years. The best shots were always the less than formal ones. Check my facebook for some of my favs of my kids posing as the Lincoln conspirators way back when!! Happy Easter to all.
    Carol

  2. Beautiful pictures. Less formal ones are always more real than posed ones. But, I too, would like a family picture. One of these days may attempt it. Beautiful pictures of beautiful girls. Thank you for sharing them.

  3. Awww, I just love those. I clicked on them to get a better view and was trying to remember which one I especially liked so I could comment and as I went back through I was thinking which ones did I like the best and then as I was going through I was like oh yeah, almost every single one!!! You definitely don’t need a “professional” to capture your girls together or individually but, I understand why it’d be nice to have someone else so you could have some w/you and Luau in them too. I hope it works out for you to have someone else do that for you.

  4. wow, these pictures are probably better than any a silly photographer could get anyway… they are simply beautiful…. Kudos to THIS photographer!!!

  5. Dear Mama,

    SERIOUSLY????? You put up a photo of me holding my fingers to my lips!? Grrrrrrrrrrrr… LOL…This means war!… LOL

    Your mad daughter, Katie LOL

    • Oh, honey. That’s nothing. Wait til you see the ones I’m saving to show your first boyfriend.

      * Mwaaaahaaaaahaaaaa *

      (Love you, punkin. ;))

      • Don’t even think about it. You don’t even want to KNOW what would happen if you did that. Let’s just say SOMEONE, namely YOU, might just find a picture of herself making a piggy face on MY blog. Yeah, love ya too. LOL

  6. Great photos by you, daughter. Don’t forget Grandpa DD’s photography of the kids, too! He certainly gets it, as well.

    Love you,
    Mom

  7. These shots are Winners for all time. Everything about them is so poignant ! It is easy to see the love & connection between those girls. Also, the perfect setting for pictures! Both girls are all the way present in every shot. Robin

  8. Beautiful pictures especially after such a bad experience with the “professional” photographer. Your girls are beautiful. Posed photographs are awful anyway.

  9. They couldn’t be better and the best part is that you have the memories you captured in the photos. The are incredibly beautiful girls. congratulations. I am hoping to have better luck with my photo shoot coming up. But even re-thinking that after your experience.

  10. So gorgeous. These two posts really hit home with me. I went through something similar with my son and a clueless photographer, who just didn’t “get it,” despite the plethora of info I provided. I finally asked my friend, a budding photographer, to take pics of the kids in the park…and in her pictures, I saw my boy again.

Leave a Reply

