questions

 

I have no time to write.

None.

Zero.

Zip.

But I am too excited to keep this to myself, so in ten five minutes or less, here it is.

My baby has started asking questions.

Real, honest to God questions.

Questions that are borne not of need, but of curiosity.

Questions that serve no other purpose than to help her gain information, make sense of her world and LEARN THROUGH SOCIAL INTERACTION.

Questions like, “What does that mean?” when she hears a word in a song that she doesn’t understand.

Questions like, “Who are you talking to?” when one of us is on the phone.

Questions like, “Where are we going?” when we get into the car.

Questions like, “Who is the person singing?” when she hears a song that she likes on the radio.

Yes, my baby has started asking questions.

Questions that I will never, ever take for granted.

Questions that were conspicuously, heart-breakingly absent for all those years.

Questions that I prayed she’d be able to ask someday.

Questions that are the product of so very much hard work.

Questions that will allow her to move forward in quantum leaps.

Questions that she show us that she already has.

Yes, my baby is asking questions.

How bout them apples?

**

ed note: Got something to brag about – or in need a shot of hope to start your day? Click over to the Community Brag Page and check out the amazing things our community’s children have accomplished. And then tell us what YOUR kid is doing!

 

48 thoughts on “questions

  1. Completely awesome & congratulations! I do know how that feels, those “firsts” when you have a child with developmental issues. It’s a ray of sunshine in the middle of a hurricane, something you will never, ever take for granted. I am so happy for Brooke & you.

  2. Yay Brooke! That’s a big milestone. Evan started asking, “what are you making for dinner?” a while back. I still want to do a little dance around the kitchen every time I hear it.

  3. That’s fantastic, phenomenal news! That’s making one Grammy a very happy person this morning. Hot damn, that’s great!

    I love you,
    Mom

  4. Loved loved loved reading this post this morning! Everyone here knows what a HUGE deal this is – go Brooke! And thank you Jess for taking the time to write – long, short, 2 sentences – the length doesn’t matter, we appreciate you sharing, inspiring and somedays, just hunkering down with us each time you post :)

  5. A double wonderful whammy- questions AND a “non-snarky” alternative to those damn Christmas missives that plague me every year. I know I’ve said this before, but I’ll say it again- Brooke has taken HUGE developmental leaps over the past eight months since I’ve been reading this blog. Speaking as a former teacher and an ABA therapist, this particular one is gargantuan. Seriously, I can’t wait to see what she does next, and I am confident there will be a gigantic “next”!
    As for the brag site- pure brilliance, and a far more polite response to those “look at me” litanies than I’ve envisioned in the past. GREAT idea!! Congrats for both!

    • thx, lady. i’m so glad that i have the blog so that i can go back and be reminded of how incredibly far she’s come in such a short time. two years ago, i never would have believed we could be where are now, but it’s easy to lose sight of the progress ;)

  6. Whoo-hoo! And we are the parents who will NEVER tire and NEVER, EVER complain about answering endless questions.

    • omg, how many times do you hear parents b-tching about a three year old who won’t stop with the ‘whys’ it’s just crushing when you’d give your left arm for a single one. kills me every time.

      you’re right, we will NEVER tire of answering them.

  7. That is so wonderful, and I know exactly how you feel, because I just noticed yesterday that one of my little girls has started asking questions too. Congratulations its a wonderful thing to see them blossom.

  8. JoyMama calls them “Inchstones”- those developmental leaps that we all celebrate within our own circles- that are HUGE, but maybe later than we would have liked. It’s the joy that is…. tinged with sorrow. But sweeter because we see them- we truly see them.

    Congratulations, Brooke- and to Jess who gets to revel in “But why?… but why?” moments now!

  9. That is awesome!!! That’s huge!! My boy is 3 and I can’t wait until he asks questions (well, he asks for things he wants, and he does asks where people are). Go Brooke!!!

    • andi, see above. brooke is almost 8 and at five, questions like this were a pipe dream. hang in there and keep working at it!!

  10. thank you all so very much for celebrating with me. as always, your loving support means the world to me and my family. HUGS!!

Leave a Reply

