yo

*

OK, so here’s the deal. I really don’t have a post ready for today. Of course that doesn’t mean I don’t have a truckload of blog fodder – my children never leave me empty-handed; but it does mean that I didn’t have the time to commit to turning any of it into something at least reasonably readable. Incidentally, think that last sentence proves its own point.

However, I felt like we all could use a smile. Besides, it’s Friday, so whatever is up today will be Diary’s home page for the weekend. And as important as I felt like my last post was to share, it’s also some heavy stuff. I’m just not sure I can handle three more days in the muck.

So, here’s what I’ve decided to do about it. I hope you’ll indulge me, because it’s pretty silly. But it’s also a lot of fun. Well, at least for me.

One night a while back, Luau took Katie out to dinner while Brooke and I stayed home and ate in. (If you’re not sure why we would split up that way, I’ll assume you haven’t read THIS.)

While they were out, Brooke lost a tooth. Lost teeth are a pretty big deal around these parts, so Katie was all kinds of excited for her sister. To celebrate, she asked Luau to help her make a video message to send home to her. You know, just like when we were kids. Except not.

In the video, she did an impression of DJ Lance Rock, the trippy, slightly disturbing host of one of Brooke’s favorite shows, Yo Gabba Gabba. Brooke LOVES Yo Gabba Gabba. Remember this?

Yep, that’s Foofa, from Yo Gabba Gabba

(With her sister, the bird who went to Vegas to become a movie star, but that’s another story. Moving on .. )

Anyway, here’s DJ Lance. Try as I might, I couldn’t find a video clip of him doing the show’s introduction, but I think the impressions will hold their own without it. Just keep this guy in your head while you watch. And then think of something else as soon as you can, lest you have some really weird dreams tonight and wake up cursing me.

Ok, so here goes. This is what Katie sent to Brooke …

Brooke melted into hysterics. After watching Katie’s DJ Lance at least twenty-seven times, we managed to make two (sort of) coherent videos to send back. Here goes …

and then …

*

Yup, that’s it. No soapbox, no tears, no calls to action. Just a little fun. Cause dang it, don’t we all just need a little fun sometimes?

Have a great weekend!

27 thoughts on “yo

  1. LOVE IT!!!! Thank you. I might have combusted otherwise…though for the record, DJ Lance gives me nightmares all on his own.

  2. This was awesome, and a great laugh. My husband came over and saw Brooke cracking up and was like, “Who is that kid?” I explained to him about your blog and family and he was so thrilled for her excitement and giggles that he made us watch it again. :)

  3. That’s wonderful! I’m definately in agreement with the DJ Lance comments. Some of the other characters are interesting as well.

  4. What do you mean no tears? I have tears from the sheer sweetness and joy of it all!! OK – I’m easily emotional but I know you can relate ;) Thank you for sharing such sweet video clips. I loved watching them.

  5. So cute, thanks for sharing. My daughter just watched three times and is having fits of giggles! If we weren’t on opposite coasts, I’m sure they would be great friends.

  6. Adorable!!! How does Brooke do with the whole notion of the tooth fairy? Evan’s friend has lost some teeth and he is not sure about the whole concept. He’s five, so I have to start devising my plan!

  7. Ah you always seem to know when I need a giggle! Your girls are precious! We spent the morning in the ER my little spectrum Momma broke her big toe :( life is gonna be fun around here the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

