a much needed laugh – with apologies to texas

*

Do you remember me telling you about the friend that Brooke made at camp this summer?

Wait, I can’t possibly just let this go as if I’m honestly this casual about it.

Let’s try this …

AHEM.

EXCUSE ME, FOLKS.

IS THIS THING ON?

MY DAUGHTER MADE A NEW FRIEND, PEOPLE. AT CAMP. AND THEY’VE HAD THREE – COUNT EM – THREE PLAY DATES TOGETHER. AND THEY WANT TO HAVE MORE. AND WHEN WE LEFT THE LAST ONE (AT S’S GRANDMA’S HOUSE), SHE ASKED IF SHE COULD COME BACK HOME WITH US AND HAVE DINNER TOGETHER THAT VERY SECOND BECAUSE SHE DIDN’T WANT US TO HAVE TO LEAVE. AND SHE TOLD ME THAT SHE CAN’T WAIT FOR BROOKE TO COME TO HER HOUSE SO THAT SHE CAN MEET HER DOG, BUFFY. AND BROOKE CAN’T WAIT TO GO TO HER HOUSE TO MEET HER DOG, BUFFY. AND, UM .. Oh, sorry. Didn’t expect to be yelling for quite that long. But um, MY KID MADE A FRIEND AT CAMP!

**

The other night, Katie’s friend, Lila was at the house for a sleep-over. Brooke was apparently inspired. Just before bed, she brought a doll into the center of her room. She laid a bunch of stuffed animals on the floor next to the doll, then gently covered her with a small blanket.

“I’m having a sleep-over with a big girl,” she said as she patted the blanket before padding off to her own bed.

I thought of S and wondered. Why not? I tried to remember when that stuff typically starts. Second grade seemed about right. I sent an e-mail to S’s mother, Anne to see if S might be interested in coming to our house for a sleep-over sometime.

She called me the next day. She began tentatively, wanting to share a story, but not entirely certain that I’d find it funny. I told her not to worry. These can be tough waters to navigate from the outside. Hell, these can be tough waters to navigate from the inside.

She explained that at dinner that night, she had asked S if she’d like to have a sleep-over at Brooke’s house. She said that S was very enthusiastic and the biggest problem was explaining to her little brother why he couldn’t come too. (Say it with me ~ Awwwww.) They talked about it for a while, and somehow the conversation got around to S telling her brother that Brooke was a little different.

Anne asked what she meant by that and S said, “Well, she needs help starting her sentences sometimes.”

Anne asked her why she thought that was.

And apparently S has figured it all out.

She shrugged and said, “Cause she’s from Texas.”

And yes, with apologies to my many friends in the Lone Star state, I told Anne that I found it EXTREMELY funny.

If only I’d know earlier.

30 thoughts on “a much needed laugh – with apologies to texas

  1. DOAM, after the past 2 days, you realllllly needed that phone conversation didn’t you? Yep, I think you did. Oh and I think I love “S”‘s mom…..

  2. Love this!!!!!!!! S is brilliant! I live in Texas and I am now going to explain away my occasional loss of words (trust me, it doesn’t happen often!) with S’s explanation.

  3. We like to say, “She’s just not from around here,” which is Southern and ridiculous, but the same gist. And YOUR DAUGHTER MADE A FRIEND AT CAMP!

  4. Curious… did she misinterpret Austin for autism or did the poor child bear witness to George Bush butchering the English language? Yep. I went there. Sorry- but every time I hear someone say ” nucUlar” instead of “nuclEar” my ears bleed.
    Jess- I’m glad you had a great giggle over that!! That child is darling- as are your two angels! Out of the mouths of babes…. comes perfection ( sometimes!). Love it!!

  5. I can see the words of “auTIStic” being confused with “TEXas”…

    In the words of Alan Jackson:
    God Bless Texas with His own hand
    Brought down angels from the promise land
    Gave em’ a place where they could dance
    If you wanna see heaven brother here’s your chance
    I’ve been sent to spread the message
    God bless Texas
    (God Bless autistic, too!)

    I’m a Texas native six generations deep… and I love this!

  6. Well, I knew you prepared me that you might share this story, and really am thrilled that it was well received. BUT I must correct you on one key fact – it has been FOUR play dates, my friend. Count Em- FOUR!!!! And yes, many more to come.

  7. Okay, y’all… My bleach-blonde Texas hair is standing on end right now .. (What would my fellow Texan Pat effing Green have to say about this?) :)

    Word to the wise: Don’t Mess With Texas. snort..
    :)

    • Lol. I’m pretty sure my man, Pat effin Green would be the first to say that he sometimes needs help starting sentences too. Of course that’s under um – different circumstances. ;)

Leave a Reply

