the jesus updates part two

*

Luau sat with Brooke at bedtime. He tucked her in and got ready to read No, David for the seven thousandth time.

She snuggled with her Jesus doll and made a declaration.

“Jesus is my husband.”

“Really, Brooke?” Luau stuttered. “That’s um, great.”

(Ed note .. She’s been working on figuring out husbands and wives recently. I’m pretty sure there’s not a lot of deeper meaning in this, so let’s not start calling her Sister Brooke just yet, OK?)

She sat quietly with her – uh - husband for a moment, then said, “Hey, Dad! Jesus and I have big news!!!”

Luau braced himself.

“What’s that, little one?”

She and Jesus made their announcement.

“Noggin is now Nick Jr!”

“Yes it is, Brooke,” Luau said as he breathed a sigh of relief and gratefully launched into the seven thousandth reading of No, David.


*

The happy couple

*

25 thoughts on “the jesus updates part two

    • you and me both. cracked me up when he told me the story. we’re both very proud of our new son-in-law. of course, he’s no doctor, but you give the guy a loaf of bread, you wouldn’t believe what he can do. (snort)

  1. I’m not often at a loss for words. I can’t seem to get them out but I’m definitely laughing inside.

    Love you,
    Mom

    • for those of you who don’t know karla, i’d like to introduce you.

      she is not only one of my favorite people, she also happens to be a pastor.

      (that means it’s ok to laugh at the jesus posts cause all the cool pastors are doin it.)
      ;)

    • karla is the best of the best. she has a blog of her own called amazing bongos. on the very top of the home page is the following explanation for the name.

      “the drum”

      daddy says the world is
      a drum tight and hard
      and i told him
      i’m gonna beat
      out my own rhythm

      -nikki giovanni

      oretty much says it all. but if not, here’s a post i wrote a while ago about a conversation she started. if you don’t love her after that, i got nuthin here for you. ;)

      http://adiaryofamom.wordpress.com/2008/08/18/god-makes-a-house-call/

      (there’s a link to her in the post)

  2. I’m new to your blogs and I absolutely love your sense of humor. But can I just say, your daughter is ridiculously gorgeous! She is so beautiful!!!

  3. I suppose there are worse boys out there should could want to marry? I am thinking in her teen years you may be wishing she was still feeling the love Jesus LOL She is soooo funny!

  4. Awww Jess!! I know I am irreverent, but I’m thinking your son in law is too! That was the point— be ye real!!

Leave a Reply

