moments of grace

*

I was honored to be asked to contribute to an ongoing series on parenting for the Seattle Special Needs Examiner.

The series is described as a discussion about parental coping strategies, but I took the liberty of tweaking the concept just a little. I opted to reframe it and write instead about where I find my strength. Semantic perhaps, but I needed the more positive spin. And so, I set about writing the three hundred words that I was told that the space allowed.

Since I’d never written anything for anyone else before, I’d never counted words. As it turns out, I use A LOT of them. I’m sure that surprises no one, particularly my husband. But seriously, three hundred words is basically my version of ‘Hi, my name is Jess,’ so it was an interesting challenge to shoe-horn a parenting philosophy into a three hundred word container, but I did my best.

And so, without further adieu, here it is – where I find my strength in three hundred (ish) words.

I call it Moments of Grace.


18 thoughts on “moments of grace

    • P.S. I absolutely love the photo you submitted for the article – Katie’s smile and closed eyed hug – your beaming smile – Brooke’s impish grin. There is so much emotion that it fills me to overflowing. I hope you have it framed somewhere in your home.

      • Aw, thanks, Lis. It is my favorite photo EVER. Pure Mama bliss with my girls in my favorite place on earth with my favorite man behind the camera.

        When things get tough, I go straight to that moment.
        ;)

  1. You do a great job if it’s 300 or 3,000 words kiddo. You’re just good at this Jess…and I’m so grateful for that. Your words have a way of changing the light just like that harp.

  2. As you know, this part is my favorite: ” Some are connection – those precious moments that transcend language and take us to a place where words are not necessary or even welcome.”

    Love.

    • thanks, kate! that is me with the girls.. that picture actually hides on my ‘about diary of a mom’ page and the woman from the examiner saw it there and asked if she could use it.

      i’m far more often behind the camera than in front of it :)

  3. Very nicely done. It is hard to communicate in 300 words, but you did a wonderful job. Did you ever find out why there was a harp there that day? Was it a volunteer or did the staff pay to “brighten up the place?”

Leave a Reply

