june 19, 1999

wedding3

OK, so it’s been a bit of a Luaupalooza this week. Admittedly, it’s gotten out of hand. Between this and this, well, I can just see you rolling your eyes and letting out a deep, ‘Oh for God’s sake, enough already’ sigh. And you’re completely justified. Heck, I’m a little tired of talking about him too, I assure you. (Sorry hon, but c’mon, it’s a little out of hand,)

But, well, it turns out that exactly ten years ago today, I said the following words to Luau. And then he said some similar stuff to me. Including – I kid you not – a promise to reach for things on the high shelves for as long as we both shall live. I’m fairly certain it was the first time I saw his mom (who is a mere five feet just like yours truly) cry.

It’s been ten years and one hell of a ride. I can’t wait to see what the next ten will bring.

Luau,

I come here today to pledge my life to you. The promises I make today I have honored since I’ve known you. So, as so much changes today, nothing is different than yesterday. For I will love you always as now.

I will love you as my rock, my strength, my shelter. You will always be my inspiration, my passion and my home. You are forever my lover, my playmate and my dearest friend.

I promise here to love you without reservation or condition. I promise to listen hastily, to judge slowly, to temper pride with understanding and jealousy with trust.

I promise never to stop talking to you, learning from you and growing with you.

I promise to keep our love precious. To never for a moment take for granted its word or its deed.

Above all, I promise to remember this moment. To remember that I stood here today before those I love and respect to pledge my life to you. I did it because nothing in this world or the next could keep me from loving you. I did it because when I look into your eyes I see my past, my present and my future. I see the family we have been and the one we will create.

I promise to keep these foundations strong and to never stop building on them.

These things I promise with all that I am and all that I will become with you.

June 19, 1999

And June 19, 2009

wedding1

.

And to you, dear reader, I promise a return to our usual programming on Monday. Thanks for hanging in there through the sappy stuff!

26 thoughts on “june 19, 1999

  1. Since you’re laughing during the toast in the last picture, it could have been at me after reading the letter that I wrote to both you and Luau and asking:

    “Please join me now in lifting our glasses to….

    and you pointing and telling me that I had no glass in my hand.

    Love your 5′ Mom.

    Happy Anniversary. Love you both.

  2. My favorite people in the whole world.

    It always amazes me when people who SHOULD be together are together, ya know?

    I mean, what are the chances?

    Lovely, lovely.

    P.S. The floral ball is sooooo ’90’s…but the bride is timeless.

    P.P.S. LOL thinking about that wedding we witnessed…

  3. My theory (one of many) is that everything is contagious. Therefore, it’s good to be “hit” with all the good loving/appreciating/reflecting ju-ju!

    love.
    Ginger, but you can call me Ginge

  4. *poke* *poke* I know you two are real, but sometimes you blow my mind with your awesomeness. Hard to believe we live on the same planet.

    To the happy couple! *raises virtual glass of champagne*

    *poke*

  5. could you two be more amazing and gorgeous and amazing again?

    happy anniversary–a day late, sorry.

    I miss you guys!

    xoxoxxo k

  6. Happy Anniversary! I can’t believe how much Katie looks like her mom on her wedding day…. Beautiful, both of you, inside and out!

  7. My baby girl, what a woman you have become! You could not be loved more.
    Luau is beyond lucky and so are you.
    Dad

Leave a Reply

