bombaloo

cupcake-recipes12

Katie had a playdate yesterday with M, a  girl in her class. They baked and decorated cupcakes and M’s mom generously sent Katie home with a plateful. Two were adorned with brightly colored sprinkles, one was buckling under the weight of what looked to be a full bag of chocolate chips and one was naked. Yes, naked. Not the tiniest schmear of icing to be found.

Katie couldn’t wait to serve her creations to the family. She looked tortured when Luau told her that dessert would have to wait until after her shower. I’ve never seen her shower and dress for bed so efficiently. She was back in a flash.

She served Luau and me first, proudly walking each cupcake in separately on its own plate. “They’re strawberry!” she proclaimed, explaining their somewhat odd pink hue. She set them down before us with a flourish and then asked if she could put a candle into Brooke’s. Luau and I looked at each other and shrugged. Why not?

Luau helped her light the candle and then came back into the den to wait. Katie walked in, her beautiful face lit by the glow of the flame. To the tune of “Happy Birthday” she sang.

Happy best sister in the world day to you

Happy best sister in the world day to you

Happy best sister in the world day, dear Brooke

Happy best sister in the world day to you

She placed the nude cupcake in front of her sister. Who loves cupcakes. And won’t touch icing.

Brooke took a few bites and then turned to her sister.

“Can we put a candle in HER cupcake?” she said.

Luau and I repeated the shrug. Why not?

I carefully removed the candle from Brooke’s cupcake and set it into the chocolate chip extravaganza. I lit it for her and helped her carry it into the den. She began to sing.

Happy sister in the world day to you

Happy sister in the world day to you

Happy sister in the world day, dear Katie

Happy sister in the world day to you

OK, so there was the matter of the word ‘best’ but um, honestly?

Cutest.

Thing.

Ever.

As we munched through our cupcakes, I chatted with Katie about her day.

“I didn’t like Sib Shop today,” she began.

“Why not, love? Did something happen?” I asked.

“Well, no. OK, maybe it wasn’t that I didn’t like it. But I didn’t like the activity that we had to do.” she said, scrunching her nose.

“Hmm, what didn’t you like about it? Can you tell me what it was?”

She took a bite of cupcake. “We were supposed to draw our siblings all bombaloo.”

I cocked my head, confused golden retriever style. “All bombawho?”

She sniggered.  “Bombaloo, silly. It means like really mad or upset. Kinda means ‘freaking out.'” She proceded to show me her best imitation of bombaloo. She stood in front of me with her arms and legs akimbo, wearing an expression similar to the abominable snowman from Rudolph. I tried not to laugh.

“But I didn’t like that,” she continued through a mouthful of chocolate chips. ” I asked if I could draw two pictures. They said it was OK, so I drew a line down the page and split it in half. I drew a picture of Brooke all bombaloo on one side and one of her happy on the other.”

“So why didn’t you want to do it the way they initially asked you to?”

Her nose was scrunched up again, like she’d smelled something foul.

“Cause I didn’t want to remember her that way.”

I realized I was humming. The song in my head was getting louder.

Happy sister in the world day to you

Happy sister in the world day to you

Happy sister in the world day, dear Katie

Happy sister in the world day to you

15 thoughts on “bombaloo

  1. Omigod, JUST STOP IT. STOP BEING ADORABLE. Actually, don’t stop. Please, never, ever stop, Katie. That adorable is so, so, unsaccharine and lovely…

  2. Wow – what a great sister-singing combo! And a great day for a sister post – just a moment ago I went to my sister-in-law’s FB page, told her I’m glad she’s my sister, and thanked her for being married to my brother for 5 years (it’s their anniversary)!

  3. You know… it never ceases to amaze me. You melt my heart with these stories and you have two AMAZING little girls. I believe I have learned so much from them. Thank you.

  4. Wow. As my friend, Carrie Link would say, no accident that I stopped by this site for the first time today and read this post first. I am struck breathless and speechless and full of love for my daughters who are sisters to each other and my little sister as well.

    Thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

