are you sure?

 

OK, so yes, we fight to get away from scripting. We cherish any and all tidbits of conversation that are (or at least appear to be) spontaneously generated. We celebrate any dialogue whose lines can’t be immediately traced back to an episode of JoJo or a favorite Dora storybook.

But really, is it always so wrong? I mean, always? Like the following, for instance. Yes, it’s a script. No, it doesn’t vary AT ALL. Ever. But, well, I don’t care. Nope, not a whit. Sue me.

Brooke, how much do I love you?

Sooooooo much! More than anything in the whole wide world.

Admittedly, it comes out more like,

Sooooooomuchmorethananythinginthewholewideworld.

Last night at bedtime, I decided to push it a little. Maybe tease a touch. See if we could expand it.

Brooke, how much do I love you?

Sooooooomuchmorethananythinginthewholewideworld.

(In a silly, exagerated voice) Are you sure?

No.

My mind was racing. What the … ?

I’m Brooke.

15 thoughts on “are you sure?

  1. I love this story.

    It reminds me of the time I took my children to a Washington Capitals hockey game. While my daughter chanted “Let’s Go Capitals!” along with crowd, my then-6 year old son with ASD responded by yelling “Let’s go lower case!” at the top of his lungs. Priceless.

Leave a Reply

