ymmarg

It is quite true what Philosophy says: that Life must be understood backwards. But that makes one forget the other saying: that it must be lived forwards. The more one ponders this, the more it comes to mean that life in the temporal existence never becomes quite intelligible, precisely because at no moment can I find complete quiet to take the backward-looking position.

~ Kierkegaard

My mom and her husband (better known as Grammy and Grandpa DD) were visiting from Connecticut this weekend. Brooke adores them both, but for the first few hours of their short visit, she bobbed and weaved in and out of their space. It’s what she does with guests in our home.  Approach. Retreat. Approach. Retreat.

She popped up next to my mom as we sat around our kitchen table after dinner.

“How do you spell Grammy?”

“Brooke, you know how to spell my name. Can you tell me?”

“I’ll spell it backwards.”

And then she did.

“Y M M A R G”

I could barely breathe.

“Brooke, can you spell YOUR name backwards?”

“E K O O R B”

Oh

My

God

We went through Mommy, Daddy, Katie, some random friends from school. She spelled each and every one of them. BACKWARDS. Dora, Boots,  Charlie, Lola. BACKWARDS.

Did I mention that she can’t read yet?

That she’s FIVE?

No matter how you spell them, I am at a loss for SDROW.

10 thoughts on “ymmarg

  1. That’s amazing. How fascinating to see a glimpse of how our kids are seeing (and hearing) the world. The other night I put on a new classical music CD and Sam listened to the first song and said: “Mommy! This is from Baby McDonald when the rooster is looking up at the sky and so-and-so comes up to him. (and then proceeded to do the same for the next 11 songs). Go Brooke. obviously she has been reading!

  2. I just want to say that Grandpa DD and I still can’t believe this. We just want to eat this child up. She’s amazing!

    Grammy

  3. Foster too. The first time I realized it was when he was introduced to the school psychologist, and she asked him to write his name down for her. Which he did. RETSOF – his little variation? He also formed the letters backwards. I totally wigged out, telling the woman that until this very moment, this kid has shown no signs of aixelsyd.

  4. My word! (Pun intended) Go EKOORB!

    Incidentally, in seventh grade, my friend Kendra and I spent and ENTIRE PERIOD of science class trying to wrap our minds around the spelling and pronounciation of our names backwards: haras dnal. ardnek ittolegnal. Those names have never always stuck with me, probably because it took my entire 13-year-old brain an entire period to get it down. Imagine what Brooke might take her mind to when she’s 13!

  5. that’s AWESOME, but like drama mama, i’m not that surprised. you know she’s smart, but isn’t it exciting to discover just how brilliant she is?

  6. Note, everyone, what gibberish a brain on 2.5 hours of sleep can produce: please excuse the editing errors of the previous post! I hope you know I don’t mean “and entire period” and “have never always stuck with me”! and that you get my drift… off to bed with me!

Leave a Reply

