angels shall guard thee

Help one another, is part of the religion of sisterhood. 

~Louisa May Alcott

How do people make it through life without a sister? 

~Sara Corpening

We discovered an incredibly beautiful arboretum yesterday. How have we lived here for four years without knowing that this was so close to home? It is a slice of heaven.

I was camera happy. It’s what I do. I document. 

The girls looked so sweet walking together. I thought I’d get a couple of artsy shots from behind them.

Forget art, I caught magic. Watch what happens as Luau and I do nothing but follow behind, in awe of our older daughter.

Katie spots a dog up ahead that none of us has seen yet.  (Brooke is EXTREMELY afraid of dogs.)


Katie protectively (and gently) guides Brooke to her left side, away from the dog.

And slightly off the path.


The dog passes by without incident. (Which NEVER happens.)

Katie is also afraid of dogs, but she has just proven that she has a heart far bigger than her fear.

A dear friend of mine very recently gave Brooke a beautiful silver medallion engraved with the words “Angels shall guard thee.” Yes, sweet Sue. They certainly will.

12 thoughts on “angels shall guard thee

  1. That might be the sweetest thing I have ever seen… Katie truly has a special gift that I am sure will shine only brighter in her future

  2. What a great post – and what beautiful pictures! Found your link through your hilarious comment on Drama Mama’s blog, and am thoroughly enjoying your stories. I, too, am new to the “blogosphere,” and am finding so much comfort in having the feeling of community without having to leave my desk. It’s wonderful to read the stories of other moms who know.

  3. That is so cute. This is my first time blogging and I am really inspired by reading about other parents with autistic children.

  4. I wonder why so many autistic kids are afraid of dogs? I have a beautiful standard poodle who os very calm and loving. She doesn’t bark and jump on people; the most she’ll do is sniff someone’s hand. The little girl down the street who has autism reacts to the sight of my dog calmly walking beside me on a leash as if the Hounds of the Baskervilles are coming to devour her. I feel terrible about this.

  5. in my daughter’s case, i have always believed that her fear of dogs stems from their unpredictable nature. like many kids with autism, brooke does not feel safe when she does not know what to expect, so a wiggling, wagging, panting dog (no matter how friendly or well intentioned) is like a furry little land mine.

    additionally, it can be very difficult for kids to differentiate between the overture of a friendly sniff vs a threatening advance. (i found this to be the case with my older, typical daughter as well.)

    perhaps you could ask your young neighbor’s parents how you might be able to help make her feel safer around the dog. brooke is starting to be a little calmer when she realizes that a dog is on a leash. she knows that it allows her to keep her distance and that the dog will not be able to reach her. perhaps it might be possible to show this little girl that the leash acts as a restraint.

    thanks for your interest. i hope that’s helpful.

  6. Pingback: angels in the footlights « a diary of a mom

  7. Pingback: a girl and her dog « a diary of a mom

Leave a Reply

